updated  

Help us in starting and shaping our small homestead in the peaceful countryside of Sammatti, Finland

  • Finland
  • Favourited 46 times
  • Last activity: 07/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We're not doing much during winter months (January-March), and we haven't planned yet the spring months (mid-March-May). So we're not yet agreeing with volunteers for the time being. As such, we've been slow to respond. (aka winter time hibernation)


    We are a small and young family with a 4-year-old daughter.

    We moved to and recently bought this beautiful property in the idyllic Finnish countryside, only one hour from the capital city, Helsinki. Go for peaceful strolls in the forest, or enjoy an invigorating sauna evening!

    The property is under one hectare, about half of which is forest, with some large trees. There is a standard Finnish wood heated sauna, which we use regularly, the main house, and a tiny house in the yard (+ few other buildings).

    We have many visions for this place. We imagine having goats or sheep, chicken, bees, and maybe a dog at some point. This summer we started a garden with about 20 vegetables, beans, and potatoes. We intend to keep expanding the food garden, and eventually produce a good part of the food we eat. While we do have ideas, a clear vision and intention is still to be made, and perhaps you can also participate in shaping it!

    We want the place to stay lively. Friends coming and going, and even closer friends living in the property with us. Small events and gatherings, and projects to share and learn together.

    Felipe:
    These past months I've has been learning a lot about living in the Finnish countryside, working with wood, and timber buildings. I do continue to keep my other interests alive: movement and wellbeing, dancing, contact improvisation, own self-development through movement, mindfulness, somatics, and connection with myself, my family, others, and nature. Learning music, improving Finnish language skills, making yogurt and Kombucha.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a Finnish-Brazilian family, and besides learning about the sauna culture, and the Finnish landscape, there is a lot you might be interested in:
    - Brazilian food and culture (I'm a Brazilian Forró dance teacher ^^)
    - Starting a homestead
    - Gardening
    - Sourdough bread making
    - Yogurt making
    - Hand tools and power tools
    - Wellbeing, somatics, mindfulness, movement, dance
    - What are you interested in?

    Skills that you can improve:
    - Communication
    - Organization
    - Adaptability
    - Physical coordination
    - Self-regulation (chill and find peace inside)
    - What are you interested in?

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the help we need is with physical work: pruning trees, carrying branches, moving things around, raking, making firewood, etc.

    All the buildings in the property need maintenance, and depending on when you come, we might be in a building or renovating time, and then we might need help with that. If you have skills, or are interested and learning more about building / renovating, we can plan on doing some of that when you come.

    The garden always needs work, and we want to prepare some beds for the summer, especially a strawberry patch, and a green house.

    If you like to hang out with kids, our 4-year-old daughter is always looking for something interesting to do.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Felipe speaks - Brazilian Portuguese (mother language) - English (fluent) - Spanish (good understanding, speaks a little) - Learning Finnish - would happily get help with improving Annariikka speaks - Finnish (mother language) - English (fluent) - Brazilian Portuguese (intermediate) - Swedish - Spanish - French Joy - Finnish (main language) - Brazilian Portuguese (going pretty well ^^) I'm always happy to share my home language, or support others in learning English. My current goal is to improve my Finnish language skills.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll sleep in a cosy and gorgeous tiny house. It has a bed in the loft, and a sofa bed as well. The tiny house has heating and insulation, and is winter proof. A shower is available in the main house, and there's a dry toilet available outdoors.


    We plan to offer one cooked meal a day, that we will prepare, and for other meals, the kitchen, utilities, and ingredients will be made available, so you can help yourself.

    Besides the usual shop items, we usually have fresh sourdough bread with organic ingredients, and fresh yogurt made from local farmer's milk. (made by us, of course)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is 2 km from the supermarket, library, and main bus stop, which has frequent buses to Lohja, the nearest town.

    There is quite an active community around, and friends are often gathering and meeting each other, and we can always throw our own parties and invite others to visit.

    Depending on the season, a few different activities are possible:
    - Stroll in the forests
    - Picking forest berries or mushrooms
    - Going to the lake for a swim or enjoying the sun
    - Going to the lake for cross country skiing
    - Ice skating at the village school's ice rink (or on the lake when there's no snow)
    - Meeting other workawayers and their hosts

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Mobile connection in Finland is generally great, with cheap unlimited plans. In the countryside, without fibre connections, the speeds are not as great as in the city, but enough for my daily work as a software engineer. I work mostly at a standing table, and if we happen to work at the same time, we could possibly take turns between the table and the couch.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    It's a spacious property, and we have plenty of parking space. Welcome to come with your own accommodation.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I personally like dogs that stay mostly outdoors. Also love playing with them, and dogs love this place, and the nice branches they find around.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 865684664282

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






Come and help me with my Greenland dogs as part of my non-profit association in Lapland, Finland
Regenerative family farm, looking for help around house and garden in Finland