Art, Farm, Garden, Pottery, and Wood shop near Yosemite National Park. USA

Country

United States

Favourited 173 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are building on a little over 6 acres of land, with existing structures that were badly neglected. While we build, we also garden, pickle, preserve, and dehydrate what I can grow. I make prickly pear cactus jam every year, as well as awesome hot pickled peppers. I also have a hobby potters studio, where I am relearning everything I forgot after being away from clay for 25 years.
    We are building a little house mostly on our own. At the moment, the structure is up, roofed, and walled. Bruce is finishing up the electrical, and plumbing. Next up will be the finishing carpentry. We have a wonderful on sight wood shop to assist in that project.
    After 20 plus years of mucking about with boats in Sausalito, I am very happy to have land to work. The lists of projects is long and changing, and I can certainly adjust it to meet your skill levels and interest. Although at times it is seasonally driven.
    While I work from home 35 hrs a week, I am attached to a computer 8 hrs a day. That means that I will not be able to be with you, or take you around during those hours, My husband works in the Bay Area, so he is mostly just here on the weekends. That means you would need to be self motivated much of the time, either with a list of things to do for help exchange, or to visit Yosemite National Park, or other interests near by. I think we could easily work out a plan.
    Bruce and I are privately spiritual, though not religious. We enjoy travel and other cultures, He has traveled extensively, I have traveled some. Bruce speaks some some Spanish, and enjoys playing stringed instruments. I enjoy gardening and pottery.

    You will stay in the cabin that serves as my pottery studio. It has a queen sized super comfortable bed, running water, and wifi. The toilet is in the garage, and the hot shower is outdoors, fully private.
    We have laundry facilities in the garage as well. The kitchen is outdoors, with an oven and burners.
    Our Diet is not vegetarian. However, we are open to all diets, and I will provide the necessary ingredients to meet your needs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located less than an hour from Yosemite National Park. While I cannot be tour guide do to work, I can get you to bus that will take you into Yosemite. I can teach you local history, as well everything I know about organic gardening. I pickle and preserve foods. I am willing to share my love of clay on a case by case basis. Bruce is a super smart engineer. As he is building the house, he would welcome a hand. You might learn quite a lot helping him. Electrical stuff, plumbing, building, woodworking.

    Having your own transportation is ideal- but not necessary, as I can drop you off in town to catch the bus in the morning and pick you up in the evening. Depending on your skills, there may be some opportunities for cash work at my neighbors properties.

    It is beautiful and peaceful here. I would love to share that that with you. I will not over work you.

  • Help

    Help

    We have all kinds of things going on. Many are seasonal. Tasks required can be fitted to your skill
    Set. They include-
    Carpentry
    Digging
    Art
    dirt moving
    landscaping
    irrigation help
    painting
    garage organizing
    dump (refuse) runs
    recycling
    preserving & pickling
    harvesting
    food dehydration
    gardening
    weed eating
    mowing
    brush clearing
    weed abatement
    planting
    trimming / pruning
    pottery assistance.
    Cooking if interested

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English/ my Husband some spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in my pottery studio. I keep it pretty clean, and dust free. It is an old cedar cabin, and bats do live in the outer walls walls, I can hear them moving about in them now, but they can’t enter the cabin.
    There is queen size bed, with sheets and blankets provided, there is also a fold out couch. The cabin has a window Air Conditioner in the summer, and propane heat in the winter.
    There is running hot and cold water in the sink, and a refrigerator. High speed Wifi. the toilet is about 200 yards away in the garage. The shower is outdoors, plenty of hot water, and fully enclosed,
    the kitchen is also outdoors, it has an oven, and burners, under a shade structure- but no running water, that is in the cabin.
    There is also an outdoor claw foot tub, if you want a hot bath.

    I will buy groceries based on your needs (up to a point)
    We are not vegetarians. If you find meat offensive, I can refrain from cooking it while you are here.
    I am not opposed to cooking for vegetarians or vegans- but find it works out better if they cook for me.
    I have the organic garden going now (June) with squash, kale, eggplant, beans, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, melons, strawberry, onions, and lots of herbs.
    I have NEVER let anyone go hungry, or without drink.

    There is a cat and small dog on the property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Yosemite National Park
    I can drive you to the bus stop- but I am 5 miles out of town, so there really is no other public transportation in Mariposa county, other than the route to the park. I am happy to drive you, when I am not working.
    There is also the Merced River for hiking and swimming when the conditions are right.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 859621224421