Help with horses on a small farm in Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I teach a very gentle, spiritual and healing way of being with horses. Most people aren't here long enough to ride, because the horses have to get to know them and invite them onto their backs. When that invitation happens it's magical. You can look me up on the internet by putting in "jenny pearce horses" The horses are kept out in the paddock so there's not a lot of animal care, just daily feeding. The work is in the garden and all kinds of farm work. I love it if someone can take good photos or video for my website. When I have a workaway I teach a little bit most days as a reward for good work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Once people understand how to be with the horses in this way, I allow them to spend time with the horses after work. Husband goes off to work every day, I work at home over the internet.

  • Help

    Help

    Few people are here long enough to actually ride, as the horse has to invite them onto their back - but people do learn this very special way of being with horses, even if they are not horse people beforehand.

    In return for good work on the farm, I teach a little bit most days. The work is in the organic vegetable garden, weeding out on the farm, farm jobs and whatever else makes my life with our herd of 11 horses easier.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a very nice and quite largish caravan, good mattresses - 1 double bed, one single. And you share the house with us in terms of kitchen and bathroom and evening recreation. We eat together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We collect people from Warragul railway station about 15 minutes away. We eat mostly organically and I am a good cook, although I love it when someone cooks for us for a change. We're an older couple with grown up children no longer at home.

    We've had lots of lovely people through the wwoof program over the years - so many of them are still friends that we keep in touch with. Some of them we've enjoyed so much that they've stayed for a lot longer than the original arrangements - one of them for a year.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 859239944418