Help with house projects and looking after my place in Alaska, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 133 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I travel a lot for work and I’m home some weekends. My primary need right now I’d for someone to house sit and care for 2 cats that are indoor/outdoor. I appreciate your help with some cleaning also. There are also some little projects around the house that I could use help with if you have some extra skills.

    I am pretty easy going and flexible. Alaska is a great place to come learn about native culture, climb a mountain, walk in a glacier, lots of cultural opportunities here. My home is one rich with music and cooking.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Alaska is rich with beauty and there is much to learn about Alaska native culture and history, sustenance lifestyles and homesteading, connecting with nature and with yourself. There are endless activities to suit your interests, be it fishing, hiking, camping, or other. Maybe even get a glimpse of the Northern Lights, if you're so lucky. I saw a bear in my backyard last year!

  • Help

    Help

    House sitting and cat sitting: 2 kitties that are indoor/outdoor. Very social lovable cats that like to go in/out. Check mail, garbage out on Wednesday, shovel/mow lawn as needed

    House Project examples include: painting inside, painting outside, painting shelves and furniture, other house refurbishing, wall and shelves in closet, trimming branches, mowing, moving rocks,

    Cleaning: fridge, floors, shelves, bathroom, cobwebs, nothing that nasty ;)

    Special skills I am looking for summer 2020: 1) fix deep cell battery in RV, reseal RV 2) Build railing on porch 3) painting house outside 4) new soffit outside

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a bedroom with a queen size bed. The bed has drawers in it.

    There is an RV that accommodates up to 5, or 2-3 comfortably. There is a space heater and bedding in there. Please use the bathroom inside.

    Your accommodation will be one of these options, depending on my plans to use the RV recreationally, guests and your preferences. If you are flexible, that is the best fit. If you require the bedroom to secure your workaway experience, please communicate such and we will work it out so you know what to expect.

    There is a shared bathroom currently. There is another bathroom that there are plans to remodel. Right now only 1 functional bath. There is a full kitchen and you can help your self to food available and please tell me
    Your favorite things to eat so I can supply.

    There is internet and wi-fi, big TV, big couch, washer/dryer, all very comfortable. It can get a little cold in my house; bring layers. My home also comes with Dude the cat and Sherpa. Chugiak, Alaska is about 20 miles north of Anchorage. There is a bus that goes from the Valley to Anchorage 5 times a day and you just make a call for a pick up. You have to walk to the bus pick up spot, about one mile. Your access to the rest of Alaska is optimal if you have transportation. I am happy to bring you to Anchorage when I go for work, but I cannot change my schedule to accommodate your plans. I am happy to help as I am able.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 4 days a week



Host ref number: 857724768498