Homesteading projects with our family in Westpoint, Tennessee, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in the Cherokee hills of Tennessee. On 45 acres, we practice organic gardening, homesteading and creating community through authentic relating.
    We live naturally and simply, overall. Our place is an immersion in nature, overlooking the valley and surrounded by creeks.

    We are specifically interested in hosting people with some building, gardening & /or homesteading experience as Our projects our mostly outdoors. If you have no experience, then, no,, we may not be the place for you.
    Though we love traveling and meeting new people, our needs are specific at this time.
    Many thanks and blessings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Garret is very good at welding, remodeling and building/ electrical work. Overall, a craft of all trades kind of guy.
    I am proficient at sourdough and from scratch cooking/baking, organic gardening, diy body care, fermentation, dehydrating, Whole Foods living with focus on Weston price ideals. We are both interested in herbalism and medicinal plants.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are beginning many projects. Continuing our Remodeling of a single wide that we have gutted.
    Preparing site and building greenhouse
    Beginning seeds and gardening prep for next season
    Ideally, we would love to have carpenters, people familiar with building structures, organic gardening skills\ practices

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As of now, we have camping available. Breakfast provided and vegetarian and possibly vegan essentials for creating your own lunch. Coming together to create an evening meal/ cleanup is ideal. Me and two kids eat meat a few times a week and garret is pescatarian. We have free range eggs from our ladies out back.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lawrence county transport available by calling to schedule pickup to town and back. We are ~6 miles from Natchez trace, 20 minutes from Lake Merriweather. We are 2 hours from Nashville and 1.5 hours from Huntsville. There is plenty of hiking and swimming on our land and nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Boondocking is available.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 856947325344