Join our family to help with child care, house keeping, garden work in house near the beach in Copenhagen, Denmark

Country

Denmark

new host  

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in a small cosy house near the beach and 4 km from the city center in Copenhagen. We have two sons living at home: Luka, ten years old and Alvin, 9 months. (Our two eldest children moved away / works abroad). Rune works in IT and Nanna is a public health researcher at the University. Lukas interests are breakdance, music and computers. Alvin is a very happy and curious boy. Luka goes to school around the corner, and Alvin is still at home (right now Nanna is on maternity leave - soon Rune will be on paternity leave). We love among other things going for walks, bicycling, using the water sports area at the beach, watching a good movie together, and cooking mainly vegetarian /pescetarian. We live 1,5 km from the beach, where you can do water sports such as cable surfing, wind surfing, padle board and kayak. We also live close to a newly built ski-hill (with artificial snow). At the moment, we are kept busy by a building project - we are expanding our house with a new room and a larger living room, and also by our baby, Alvin and the various house work.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    During a stay in our home, you will learn about Danish 'hygge' or cosines :) As well as Danish family life, and humour. We joke and laugh a lot ;)

    Theres plenty of opportunities to learn about Danish and Nordic history and art at the various museums, galleries, the little mermaid, castles and many more cultural and historical sights.

    We live close to a beautiful beach with water sports activities and a nice promenade (for roller skates, skate boards, walks etc) .

  • Help

    Help

    We hope to get help in one or more of the following areas, depending on your skills and wishes:

    Help looking after Alvin (9 months) - such as going for walks with him, playing in the house or in the nearby playground. Either Rune or Nanna will always be at home as well.

    Help inside or outside the house, such as washing clothes, light cleaning, help cooking or garden chores. (We have someone come and clean the house once a week - but need daily small tasks).

    Depending on your skills, you might also want to help Rune outside the house with practical manual chores.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a room on the first floor (the room of our daughter, who is abroad) in our house, approx 11 m2. There is a double bed, desk, and some of our daughters stuff. You share toilet and bathroom with the family. You are welcome to eat dinner with us every night, we eat breakfast together before Luka goes to school around 7.30. You are welcome to join! Lunch is mainly do-it-yourself... :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus right outside taking you to the city center or a metro station. The nearest metro station is 1,5 km. away - which also takes you to the center in 12 minutes. You can borrow a bike while you are here to easily get around. We bike ourselves most of the time.

    Copenhagen has a myriad of cultural offers, including theaters, cinemas, the amusement park Tivoli, shops, restaurants. Nearby our house there is plenty of cool cafes and parks. We also live close to the newly renovated Aquarium 'The Blue Planet'. Also, there's a few nature reserves very nearby for beautiful walk, runs or biking.

    We would like to host someone, who can help in the above mentioned areas 3-4 hours a day - the rest of your time, you are welcome to hang out with us at home, or enjoy time on your own in the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 855262712379