Cheese up your life in a beautiful region in Emmental, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

updated  

Favourited 231 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 living in a small and beautifull town in the region of Emmental between Bern and Thun. Our two boys are 10 and 9 years old, we have a dog, two cats and some chickens. We also host teenagers with difficult backgrounds to give them a save place and color up there lives.

    We school our kids at home.

    Our big passion is cheese. For this reason we spend the whole summer in the mountains near col des mosses in the french part of switzerland to take care of cows and lot other animals. We milk them twice a day and make cheese the really old traditional swiss style on an open fire. The season last from the end of may until the beginning of september.

    After the alp season, around the beginning of october, we start to sell our cheese on the market all over switzerland. During that period from oktober till may we live in a cheese production house, upstars is the flat for living and downstairs is the production room and the cellar.

    The needed help is depending on the time you are staying with us. In the summer you have the chance to see some tradition, peacefull and silentness. There is work with the animals, chopping wood, cooking or maintaining something.
    In the rest of the year there is a lot of dynamic with the markets and the production etc. We need help in the household, get along with our dog, cooking, help something in the cheese production or have fun with our kids. But we don't need a baby sitter, our kids are old enough to take care of them selfs.

    We also own a piece of land on a friends farm. There are some chickens, sheeps and we are starting to get a veggie garden set up. On this spot there is also always a hand needed.

    Some words about our family and our way of living.... we 4 were travelling for a couple of years before we settled down in this beautifull region of switzerland a few years ago. Before we startet our travel rebekka was a manager of a restaurant and thomas worked in sales. We where both tired about making career and wanted to do things in our life that make us happy and fullfill us, so this is why we do what we do now! we are both in the middle 30's. We are easy going, try to see the things positiv, try to take every person as they are and don' t blame anyone. We try to go an alternative way but we are also part of the society. We are switched on, we work a lot and have a lot of ideas and we are also not greedy. We really think that something works wrong in the way human life on this planet. And that it is time to change something.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll life in an open house where lots of people go in and out. From time to time friends with there kids come around to make school together with our kids. As we life on the country side there are lots of traditional events going on during the year. You also have the opportunity to learn lots about milk, cheese and farming.

  • Help

    Help

    In our house there is always something to do. Our kids and our dog love if you spend some time with them and tell them about other languages and cultures. It's also welcome if you give a hand by keeping the house in shape.
    The type of work is flexible and we can see what skills and interests you have

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Upstairs in our house are two cosy rooms and a bathroom for helpers, friends or teenagers who live with us.

    We mostly eat together. Most food we buy on the market and cheese we make at home;-) we mostly eat vegetarian food.

    We live in a town but there is no public transport. The next trainstation is about 30 minutes to walk. We can give you a lift if it's necessary.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The swiss Alps are just next door and Bern, the capital of Switzerland, is also really close. The area is beautiful for hiking, making outdoor sports and collecting mushrooms in autumn.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

View out of the living room (during winter)
View out of the kitchen (during winter)
Volunteers sleeping room (during winter)
Volunteers bathroom (during winter)
The alp (during summer)
Cheese production on the alp (during summer)
Cheese production on the alp (during summer)
Sunset on the alps (during summer)
Thomas in action
Rebekka

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 854571719162