1 / 5

Enjoy learning to live sustainably in this lovely state of Kentucky, USA



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Spring 2024!

    So when we say learn to live sustainably, It is just that! When we first bought the farm, coming from Chicago our first real intention was to KNOW Exactly Where our food was coming From. Perusing the grocery aisles, do we ever really know? As the farm developed, our goal slowly was being realized. Our coveted relationships with the Amish and Mennonite communities fill in all the gaps in our drive to LIVE on our own.
    However our small farm, still has a lot of growing to do. We raise sheep and have two donkeys, chickens , ducks, rabbits two Guineas named Gilbert and Gilligan and no children. Goats are next! We hope for cultural exchanges along with 4 to 5 hours of help, 5 days out of the week, not including meal prep and clean-up. Spring.is here so fertilizing and trimming bushes, planting, at the farm needs to be done. We recently purchased a pretty large Tractor that you will learn to use. It helps to mulch and lift heavy things, Hoorah!

    We wrapped up an outside shower supplied by filtered rain water, or Not, that will be amazing to use. Privacy fencing posts are in so that is almost complete. We have outside laundry facilities and WIFI. This exchange does not include any children just a lot of animals that we take care of and love.
    Our recent somewhat lengthy trip to New Zealand and recently Europe is where we learned so much about sustainability. This trip opened up a world of ideas needed to live on our own with very little outside intervention.
    We are finishing up a greenhouse with long raised beds to maintain soil quality and provide crops in the colder months. A seeding shelter for propagation is in the works.
    We have recently upgraded our wood working tools to “top of the line”,if anyone has the passion and or skill to use them. If you have an interest we will teach. Painting and carpenters skills are always helpful. We are hoping for a website soon and could use help with our new Mac computer. if you have artistic talent, Mosaic is my new passion and we will support any of yours Imagination challenges during your stay here.

    We are 60 Miles north of Nashville for your love of All music, not just “Country”. We are happy to help with getting you into the cities when needed. We do have internet; so vital while traveling. We are located on quite a large lake that we never seem to have time to go to. Great helpers is the best excuse to make it a priority.
    Mammoth Cave National Park is near by, which have biking and trails abound.
    You will have your own sleeping space small but nice, helpers have loved the privacy of the loft in the barn. Two weeks is the minimum stay on our farm. Smoking outside only. We eat all foods and I am talented at vegetarian cuisine.

    We also ask for a copy of your passport, or valid US Identification, and that you consider yourself safe from the dreaded virus.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning sustainability and the practice of it have numerous benefits for our health and planet. We try to run our farm and our personal lives with that in mind. Sometimes it's not always easy to be consistent but once you get better at it , It becomes easier. So that's what I hope to teach our helpers.

    Having been a worker and also hosting myself, I realize We have so much to offer in the way of cultural exchange. But selfishly I want to also Learn from my workers. I Remain in touch with many of my volunteers and it has been a great joy for us.

  • Help


    Of course on the farm we need help in various areas, feeding watering maintaining pastures. All other projects we will work together. It is just as important to Us for the cultural experience as is the help you lend. My only requirement is that you think safety, can help unsupervised and are a self-starter. And buddy you better clean up daily after working on your project, :) cleaning and putting away your tools. :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Single bedroom small but nice in the main cottage. In the summer months we have a loft in the barn that many helpers have absolutely loved giving them their own privacy. Shared bathroom,
    For couples a snazzy retro motor home with all The amenities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located on a large Beautiful lake. I Love to fish and we have a boat that never seems to get in the water. This is a beautiful area to hike and cycle, (we have bikes) and the nightlife of Nashville can be obtained. We love our National Park nearby, Mammoth Cave, and camping on days off is not out of the question.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good WIFI. However we would all work starting in the morning, until the help perimeters have been met. I would need convincing about any other arrangement.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have 30 amp hook up and water assessability. But care should be taking during the winter months.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We allow for pets. However You and They must understand that Fric and Frac our two donkeys, take care of our sheep So they can be harmful to dogs if your pets are not well trained.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 854238142412

Feedback (8)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.6)

Help on a hobby farm in the Sonoran Desert, USA
Come and share a cultural exchange on my oasis near Atlanta, USA