Help with my organic vegetable garden, eco projects and animals in Santa Croce Camerina, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Currently London based, I will return soon to the ancestral home, with old mother, youngish partner, 2 timid cats and 2 funny dogs.

    I intend to maintain the land, refurbish the irrigation systems, have a functional and productive garden for organic veggies, raise chickens, have a donkey (!), make the grounds look beautiful and do some small temporary construction projects (gazebos, tree houses, ...).

    Also looking for help in improving the estate with some additional installations (solar panels, tiling the outdoor space around the patio and swimming pool,...).

    I am an agronomist by education so I like to think I know what I am doing in the land, but can use an extra pair of hands, especially if with some varied experience of outdoor projects.

    The place is a small centennial farm in south east Sicily, a stone's throw away from the renown inspector Montalbano house (from the hononym tv series).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area, between a small friendly village and beautiful coast and beaches, is dotted with historical sites of interest (from prehistoric to Neogothic, passing through greek, roman, medieval and baroque times).

    Food is great and weather even better.

    You will live the life of a slow paced sicilian town with plenty of opportunity to immerse yourself in the language and local customs.

    You will help me (a qualified agronomist) develop the land and garden, organic projects and outdoor wooden constructions, as well as general improvements in water management.

    Cultural and learning opportunities will include (but not limited to): organic farming, carpentry, handymanship as well as language exchange with locals and discovering the historical roots of the area.

    I will take you around with friends to visit sites and test the local delicious cuisine. Speaking of which, meals will also be offered daily from my own kitchen, although you will have your own kitchen available, should you want to cater for yourself, with the produce grown on site.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    General handymanship, a degree of practical ingenuity and perhaps some tool proficiency.

    Nothing specific is needed, but it'd be appreciated if you know your way around a hammer, a drill, a strimmer...

    Extra points for some carpentery and cement knowledge.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A small newly built 1 bedroom house with openplan kitchen with aircon and woodstove, You would be the first person living in there. Meals will be offered daily from my own kitchen, although you will have your own kitchen available, should you want to cater for yourself, with the produce grown on site.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beaches are 10 minutes cycle ride away (I can lend you one), the village is also 10 minutes away with supermarkets, shops and anything you may need that is not too sophisticated.
    A degree of public local transport (coaches and trains) can get you to see places for a day trip or overnight visit.
    I may also take you touring around a bit with friends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I can offer a working space and decent wifi in old mother's big house or around the garden (where I would be working from), Wifi will be fitted in the little house you will be staying in. Talk to me to check this will be enough for you.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, if they fit with my pets. Let's talk about it

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 854132775285