Join Us in Shaping Our Off-Grid Dream in Matarraña, Rural Spain

  • Favourited 175 times
  • Last activity: 8 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Simone and Julie, a German and French couple who moved from metropolis in 2020 to build our little off-grid finca in rural Spain on olives & almonds fields and forest land. Adding a permaculture garden, fruit trees, grey water recycling pond and more. We have already set up much of the initial infrastructure, but we always have various projects in progress. That is why help from Workaway is very welcome. :-)

    We currently reside in a small house with electricity, a decent internet connection, and very limited running water. We share our home with rescued cats and dogs, and we also have chickens.

    Our place is located approximately 2 km from the nearest village. When you wake up in the morning, you'll be greeted by the sounds of birds in the trees, the nearby cows' bells, and perhaps the sound of a village farmer's tractor heading to work.

    We do take periods of time to recharge, but when we have ongoing projects with Workaway assistance, our schedule gets pretty full. This is in addition to our daily tasks, which include taking care of animals, managing our remote jobs, and participating in local social activities. Our free time shrinks, and we often feel the intensity of living off the grid, where many manual tasks are as satisfying as they are exhausting.

    We have a lot of respect for any life so we eat almost exclusively plant-based food, although we do eat the eggs from our own happy adopted chickens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Explore a different way of life in the quiet, rural Spain. You can learn about utilizing natural resources, like collecting and recycling water in one of the driest regions of Europe. Observe our successes and learn from our mistakes in gardening and building, and gather ideas for solving technical challenges. You can also witness traditional olive cultivation and its various stages, all while enjoying the tranquility of nature. If you prefer a peaceful, tree-surrounded spot for meditation or yoga, you might find it nice also. ;-)

    We can speak Spanish, or teach you the basics of Spanish, or even share a few essential words in Catalan. if you're traveling through Workaway for seeking your own space, we're happy to share our experiences of transitioning from a big metropolis to rural Spain and provide tips or just answers to your questions :-)

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteer hours vary with the season. Typically, it's around 5 hours per weekday, like 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM and 2:30 PM to 4:00 PM in cooler months. Summers mean early starts and afternoons off. Weekends are free.

    Please keep in mind that we have a lot on our plate, including taking care of the animals before starting the day and the jobs that support our income and finance the project, which often take place after our work on the land. We therefore want volunteers to reliably show up for work at the agreed time. We are, of course, open to discussing the daily schedule details.

    We want our volunteers to have a great time and learn along the way. We mix up tasks to keep things interesting; if one day is hard, the next might be more relaxed. Once you're familiar with the place and our tools, we'll encourage your creative input. Just remember, farm work is physical.

    Please respect our tools, tell us if you accidentally broke something, ask before using materials (often it was an effort for us to get them and they might be foreseen for a different project), ask us for advice if you are unsure about how to proceed, follow safety instructions if using potentially dangerous power tools. It's not always obvious to everyone, so let's keep things safe and productive :-)

    We prefer volunteers who can commit to a minimum of two weeks as it takes a few days in the beginning to get to know the place and our routine.

    Your tasks can vary depending on the season and our construction progress. These tasks may include:
    Pruning and watering trees
    Harvesting and processing almonds
    Continuing to refurbish the old stone cottage where our volunteers sleep (involves working with wood and/or concrete)
    Fixing previous projects that didn't go well
    Rebuilding dry stone walls on olive trees terraces
    Taking care of the chickens and their coop
    Gardening and landscaping
    Cleaning the forest area of deadwood and cutting firewood

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Enjoy complete privacy in a charming stone cottage just 100m from our house. Inside, you'll have beds with blankets, a gas stove and a wood stove to keep you cozy on cool evenings. Stone walls keep it cool in the hard summer. It's a simple construction, recently refurbished; that's dry, healthy, and completely waterproof now :-D.
    Outside, you'll find a dry toilet and a cold-water shower, as well as an ongoing outdoor kitchen project.
    There's no electricity except for small solar lights. You can charge your phones and computers at our house. We'll provide water for cooking, drinking, and showers (from the village with your help).

    We also have space for people who might want to live in their own camper van.

    On weekdays, we often prepare lunch for everyone at our place, but we also appreciate quiet evenings to ourselves. You'll have access to basic ingredients to prepare your own meals at your accommodation, and you can use our vegetable garden and home fridge as needed. We sometimes like to share drinks and conversations in the evenings when the mood strikes. :-) Overall, we're looking for independent volunteers who appreciate their own time and enjoy planning their own free-time activities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    if you like hiking, you are in the right place. We have beautiful walking and hiking opportunities in the area, some of them starting right on our doorstep. A section of the Via Verde passes by the village, with beautiful views. In the warmer months, you can also visit one of the many natural pools in the rivers around here.

    This is a rural area and public transport is very limited. You will be much more flexible if you bring your own car. However, if you don't, we will probably be able to show you some nice places on our days off.
    You should not be afraid of large dogs. We expect our volunteers to have a bit of patience and go along with our little introduction ritual which is necessary in the beginning so we can all relax with each other afterwards. :-)

    Our scarcest resource is water. We have dry toilets here and we take great care to not waste anything. This means a quick and efficient dish cleaning, for example :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have internet via a mobile contract with unlimited data. This is ok for sending some large files and for streaming of films etc. The Wifi is in our house but does not reach the volunteer cottage. If you need internet for your job, please tell us in advance, depending on your needs we will see if we can make it work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have more than enough space for a van or caravan to stay on our land for a short time. We can help out with electricity if needed. It is better if you bring your own water, as this is a very limited resource here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 378944836831

Feedback (10)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)