Help us with our home and little boy in Chilliwack, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are in our early 30s with a 2 year old boy and a baby on the way. We have bikes, a vehicle that we don't often use during the day, a piano room, and live near many beautiful hiking trails and outdoor recreation areas. There's a park with tennis courts, pickle ball courts, basketball hoop and more about a 10 min walk from our house.

    We live in a 3 floor townhome with a guestroom by the front door, and a shared bathroom and laundry upstairs. Our house is scent free (severe allergies to artificial fragrance) so we would provide any laundry detergents, deodorant, soaps or shampoo needed.

    My husband goes mountain biking on the weekend, and there are three systems of trails within a 30 minute drive of our house.

    I taught piano for 12 years, and love to share music with anyone interested in learning.

    Chilliwack is surrounded by gorgeous mountains full of various levels of hiking trails, biking or mountain biking, lakes and great places to camp.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As mentioned we have camping equipment, bikes, a vehicle, a piano, board games, books, and a beautiful river-valley to explore! I love language and culture so I'd be more than happy to help someone brush up their English if they wanted.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I am quite sick with this pregnancy and need help a few hours a day (mostly around lunchtime) taking care of our 2 year old. He's a pretty easy going and joyful little boy. Because I've been so sick for the past few years we've worked a lot with him on being a good listener and helper since I can't chase after him. And he is! He loves to play in the backyard and go for walks around the neighborhood.

    We would also need a little help with dishes, house cleaning, and some meals. We're pretty easy going and willing to negotiate on which household things we'd need help with. Currently my husband works full time and has almost full time house duties so taking anything off his plate is a big help.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love languages! I learned some French in highschool and could (barely) get by when traveling in Quebec. I started to learn Punjabi but changed jobs away from my friends that were teaching me. I'm open to learn or share my knowledge of English. I'm also fluent in pig-latin haha.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a guestroom in the basement with a single bed and a large wardrobe for storage. Our bedrooms are on the 3rd floor so the guestroom is fairly private. You would share a bathroom upstairs with me (Sarah) and there is a washer and dryer by the bathroom as well. We have a decent backyard that is almost completely private, a deck with a BBQ, and live in a quiet townhouse complex.

    I have some many food allergies so we can't have certain herbs, mint or lavender anywhere in the house. But my husband eats almost anything so it would probably be easiest to split cooking duties with my husband and eat the same meals as he does since mine are completely separate. Depending on how many hours you're able to help, and what your food preferences are, we could either provide the food or share food costs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Chilliwack is full of great restaurants, food trucks, farmers markets (during the summer) and only an 90 min from Vancouver and the ocean. There are several zero waste stores, and other cool stores to check out locally too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fairly decent wifi. I work from home as a bookkeeper so I have a small office split off from the livingroom. I've been involved in business and managing cashflow or finances for people for over 11 years. I love numbers, spreadsheets and budgets! I'm always willing to share what I've learned about small business, and how to manage money.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible with hours, but looking for at least 2-3 hours 3-5 days a week


Host ref number: 852741255445