Help me with a permaculture and other garden projects in a small town in Slagelse, Denmark

  • Favourited 5 times
  • Last activity: 9 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hi everyone!

    My name is Tania and I am danish woman, living in a small town in Denmark. I recently bought a 435 square meter land with a little house, apple and plum trees, and a green house. Currently I am in the process of renovating the house, designing the garden and growing in the green house. This is an amazing and never ending process, where there is no limit for the creativity. There is always a lot of work, for example installing a small kitchen, painting inside and outside, designing and building beds for planting vegetables, garden work (cutting the grass, trees etc), planting vegetables and fruit, building a wooden terrace and fixing some old furniture. I find that it’s a really fun process, but a lot of work for one person.

    The place is going to be my home, for now I am sleeping somewhere else. My hope for the place is to become as self sufficient as possible and to incorporate sustainability and permaculture, in all the different kinds of work.

    At the moment the house has water supply and a camping toilet. There is access to a shower close to the house, which is like a community shower that’s free. There is no electricity, so for now I am using a minimum is gas and finding solar batteries solutions. Laundry has to be done by hand, occasionally I can bring yours to my mothers place.

    As a long term dream, I want to build a second tiny house on the land, build a fireplace inside and build a compost tank.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is a lot to see and learn about in Denmark, especially during the summer. You can enjoy beautiful hikes in forrests, always be close to the sea and beaches, explore the capital Copenhagen, which is really beautiful culturally and artistically. You have Germany just a few hours from Denmark and Sweden is a 30 minutes train ride from Copenhagen.

    You will find it special to learn how to grow plants and vegetables in a colder invironment, if you are from a warmer country.

    I would be happy to practice a lot of English, danish and German. At the moment I am learning Spanish, after I did Workaway in Spain. So this would definitely be preferred for me! :)

  • Help


    I can only host one person at a time and I need a person who is initiative, since I will not be home all the time. I need a person with skills in either/both gardening, construction, general maintenance/DIY projects, and/or knowledge about sustainability, permaculture, plating and farming.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    The Workaway we will receive a tent, with a madras, pillow and blanket. The vegetables from garden is free of use, but everything else you must buy for your self.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The town where the land is located is called Slagelse, which is a 50 minutes train ride from Copenhagen. There is direct trains every 30 minutes every day. From the train station you can either walk for 30 minutes (very easy walk, Denmark is completely flat!) or take a town bus. It is nice to have a bike here, which you can buy cheap.

    The land is 2 km from a nice Forrest and 8 km from the beach.

    I like an everyday life that has space for spontaneity, being social and working a lot, but at the same time not planning too much and taking a day off if we need. I like slow mornings with my coffee in the garden, doing yoga and work out, long hikes etc. I am both very social and very much in need of my space, don’t worry I am very good at expressing my needs and thoughts :) I hope that the person who is going to stay with me, will be flexible and an empathetic soul who is good at feeling ones own needs.

    Need to know: the land is located in a garden community, where a lot of other people live close by. There are certain rules about noice in the evening. But the community is so nice and in general we are very good at helping each other.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 851887839756



Join our family and help with daily life in a city in the middle called Aakirkeby, Denmark
Come and help our family with the stables, animals and around the garden in Tranbjerg, Denmark