Join our magical farmhouse and help us out in Brenderup, Denmark

  • Favourited 19 times
  • Last activity: 15 Jul 2024



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    Family of two (mother, Sue, 48, and daughter, Katie, 13yrs, old) seeks english speaking company and support on jobs around the house and garden.
    We live in an amazing old farm house from 1677, updated with running water, modern kitchen and indoor bathroom etc.
    Mom takes care of the household, the vegetable garden, 20-30 chickens and various fun projects (e.g. building projects, theme parties, art, historical research), but works at a slow pace and struggles to keep up because she is partly disabled and sometimes struggles with pain issues and very limited ressources.

    UPDATE 2022: We are now sharing our house with a family of four Ukrainian refugees. We are still providing beds or matresses on the floor depending on the number of visitors, but none of us can expect full privacy and a private bedroom as it is now. Also I cannot financially support everyone, so we will be dumbster diving and magically always have food on the table. Feel free to message me for more information if you might want to be a part of this big crazy family ;) Ps. We are having a huge party for my daughter on June 4th and you are invited :D

    UPDATE 2022: Obviously the world school adventure didn't happen due to covid. I rebuild a tiny motorhome and we travelled within our own borders instead :) For now (Jan22) we are waiting to see how Covid plays out this spring, before making any long term plans. You can inquire about a stay here, but be advised that we are not taking in any antiwaxers and you need a fresh covid test to come here. Thank you :)

    UPDATE 2020: My daughter and I started another chapter of our absolutely amazing homeschool journey last year when we decided to skip the public school version of 5th grade. This means we will be travelling a lot this year and at least until August 2020 we will only be available to host workawayers on short notice and short stays, as long term planning doesn't work well for us. I will leave my profile online and update my calendar as we go.

    UPDATE 2019: I'm sorry but I feel like I have to save us all some time by adding all the no-gos right away:
    * Please read all of my profile carefully before applying and check my calendar! *
    There is no garden work in the winter, no heat in the upstairs dorm room and I can't afford to pay food and utility bills for any more people at this time of year.
    NO you can NOT register a legal residence here, do NOT use my address for your working holiday visa and cpr number as this creates a legal nightmare for me, unless you are willing to pay rent!
    I speak english and danish. You shouldn't write me in google, spanish, french, portuguese or any other language. I am not going to invite you to live in my house if we can't communicate.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are humbly trying to create world peace one friendship at a time ♥️
    We try to take a step back from hurting the planet by consuming, stressing, abusing and exploiting with our eyes closed. We are not fanatics, we do like to travel and we drive a car and eat meat (just not store-bought) but we also recycle, reuse, repurpose and we have build a fairy tale house from fleamarket treasures and other 2nd hand findings and we invest in people with love and compassion.
    We are both history nerds and love to share everything we know about danish history especially the viking age and family history if you have danish roots.
    We are quite new to workaway (spring 2019) but we have travelled as and hosted couchsurfers for more than ten years, some have lived with us for up to three months at a time to learn danish and experience danish ways of living, traditions and family life.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Usefull skills in craftmanship and other super powers are greatly appreciated but not mandatory 😄

    I need help with odd projects i.e. building a green house from old windows, painting, digging a root cellar or preparing a 200m2 flower field to help save the bees, plan a theme party or dumbster dive for food to cook and share with others.
    Because I never use pesticides in the garden, you will be doing a lot of weeding and I need someone who can dig a hole in the ground, carry firewood or push a wheel barrel. Cooking and cleaning skills are also greatly appreciated.

    I also expect workawayers to help with normal everyday household chores: things you would do in any home you live in or share with others etc. It's a home away from home, but I am not your mother ;)

    Speaking english and keeping us company.
    Both of us already speak english, but it's been 20 years since english was my primary language and it is deteriorating, and we would both like to use it more again and since I am not always well we don't get out much and we are missing the positive inputs from other people. We have travelled a lot all over the world and we miss the connections and experiences from meeting people.

    We are very flexible on the hours and days if you want to do long weekend trips or daytrips during the week it is absolutely fine as long as we plan ahead a few days.
    I work very long nights doing research, and so I am rarely available for company before noon, but there is enough space in the house for everyone to do their own thing in their own time.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Norwegian: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    "HYGGE" !
    Private alcove beds in a Hogwarts style dorm room in the attic (see photo). Workawayers / travellers will have private accomodations in the dorm located in an open 110 square meters attic, with a theater for movie nights in the opposite end. Shared bathroom downstairs.
    The house is a bit primitive but a cosy and fun experience in a Hogwarts-kind-a-way.
    We are not rich but we will share what we have and our workawayers will be part of our family while they are here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the island of Fyn, known as the garden of Denmark, because of it's fairytale like gorgeous green landscapes and villages. The beach is 3km away and we provide bicycles for visitors or maybe make trips together to viking markets, Funen Village, Odense, Egeskov or other places by car.
    We can arrange a visit to the daughters school or the nearby Brenderup Højskole for a tour of the off grid house projects etc.
    Public busses runs close by but not every hour. Train is 10km away.
    When workswayers arrive we will of course pick them up at train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wi-fi but our connection to the interwebz is so last century. However we are in a 5g zone with some providers, so if you want to use your own phone or router you should be good.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    My daughter and I are part time vanlifers ourselves. Feel free to park next to our tiny house on wheels ;) We have a rather large parking area in front of the house, far away from public road and neighbors. I can offer free power hook up for charging batteries and normal use (no electric space heaters please).

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    ONLY if they are cat, chicken and children friendly!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 556656485468

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help our family with daily life while exploring Aarhus, Denmark
Help me with a permaculture and other garden projects in a small town in Slagelse, Denmark