Come join us on our Farm in the beautiful Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 99 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    132

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are in our third year of being hosts. We have had great people stay with us and are thankful for the wonderful experiences we have shared over the last number of years. We have 4 children between 11 and 4 years old. We grew up in a city but moved onto the farm 3 years ago as we wanted to teach our children where food is from and adopt a more simple life. We both still have full time jobs however and so we also have a wonderful nanny stay with us to look after our children.
    We work hard, we enjoy what we do and feel proud of what we accomplish, big or small. We expect the same attitude of our workawayers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island is a beautiful place, close by mountains and ocean. We are surrounded by wonderful scenery and lots of opportunities to explore the many provincial parks here. We are new to farming so if you enjoy teaching and passing on your experience to someone eager to learn, our farm would be a great placement for you.
    On the other side if you are interested in starting your own homestead in the future, we are happy to share our story and lessons learned with you.

  • Help

    Help

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️ Update April
    We are booking out for spring and summer 2019.
    The jobs we have is watering, gardening, feeding chickens and pigs. The summer is a beautiful time of year to be in the Cowichan Valley. We go through heat waves and no rain, perfect for going to the lake and beaches after work.
    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    Our farm is small, we are producing in modest amounts. We have chickens, turkeys, ducks and pigs. We always need help feeding our animals, collecting eggs and watering. We also have a big vegetable garden and we like to learn more on growing our own food.
    In May we will start to get more active in the vegetable garden and we have a big wooden opened framed shelter to build. From June onwards we will have pigs that need daily feeding. We keep about 60-80 chickens, some turkeys and ducks. We may need help with fencing, tree planting, brush cutting and general maintenance. Later in the year there will be lots of harvesting, maybe some preserving, bringing in the hay.
    Who knows if we feel like it there may also be some restoring and renovating of the 105 year old farm house.
    This year we will start taking workaways from end of April onwards.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Big private room. Ensuite bathroom with shower shared with our nanny. Room and bathroom are brandnew. Double bed, desk and closet. Internet provided. Shared laundry and kitchen. The room is inside our family home but on a separate floor to provide privacy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our youngest farmer playing in dirt. We are not afraid to get dirty.
Our castle, our house. it is over 100 years old and a work in progress.
The barn we built last year. you can see our chickens, ducks and turkeys free range.
We do have pigs, they live out on the field and are happy rolling in mud.
No, Santa does not live with us, but this is us, well the picture cut some of us out.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 851552586676