Help with gardening and building projects and learn about wellness and natural medicine in Warrandyte, Australia



Favourited 63 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Contact Register
  • Description


    I am an academic doctor who specialises in wellness and tries to walk the talk. I live on a steep half acre property in Warrandyte, surrounded by trees and walking distance to the bus stop, cafes and the Yarra River. My property boasts a chemical free swimming pool, 2 hot tubs, a sauna, a small organic fruit orchard and a veggie and herb garden, along with many decks and hammocks. Our house is a non-smoking household where we eat mostly organic food, drink mountain spring water and enjoy music and a good laugh. There is always plenty to do around the property, which I share with my two teenage sons who are with me half the time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will enjoy exchanging ideas about wellness and lifestyle and learning about different approaches to wellbeing. While I am considered a global authority on wellness and natural medicine, and have written many text books and academic papers on the subject, I am always interested to share ideas about practical ways of living well and learn more about wellness from the perspectives of other cultures. This includes sharing information about different therapies, recipes and lifestyle practices as well as approaches to ecological and sustainable living. Guests will also enjoy living close to nature with seven different varieties of parrots visiting throughout the year and a variety of Australian wildlife including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, wombats, echidnas and platypus living in the neighbourhood.

  • Help


    I am interested in having enthusiastic, responsible and qualified people staying here and help with gardening, landscaping, building projects and general household chores, or even help with administrative, social media and web-based projects that includes assistant type help.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    I have a large light-filled lounge room screened off from the main living area for volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a canoe and kayak that can be taken out on the Yarra river which is close by and we are close to the Yarra Valley and its attractions such as horse riding, wineries, hiking, skiing, native wildlife and markets.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 851543223279