Helping hand with busy family who like to work hard and enjoy life in Chepstow, Wales

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    310

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi

    We are a busy family of 4, living in a medium sized town called Chepstow in Wales, right on the border of England and Wales. Chepstow is a short train ride from Cardiff, the capital of Wales and a short bus trip to Bristol, a busy city in the south west of England. The town offers plenty to see and do, and the region offers great history and culture including several castles, museums, bridges and tourist attractions.

    Chepstow is on the edge of beautiful countryside which can be reached easily by walking or cycling - we have bikes here to suit all sizes!

    We are looking for someone to join or family to help with the running of the household, helping with childcare in terms of getting our two children to school and then onto activities or back home at the end of the day. As the children are older now (13 years Joseph, 10 years Olive) the role will be more that of housekeeping (light housework), cooking meals and general co-ordination of everyone.

    I work full time in the Leisure Industry, with flexible working hours, sometimes working from home but on other occasions requiring to leave home early and stay away overnight with work. Sean, my husband, is an accountant and commute daily by train to Bristol, leaving home at 7 and returning at 6.30 in the evening. We enjoy family time at the weekend when we can all get together.

    Staying with us would allow amply free time throughout the day to study English at the local language school or travel a little further to language schools in Cardiff and Bristol. Alternative a small part-time job would allow traveller to learn more English and meet more people.

    We are initially looking for someone from late mid August through to Christmas but this could be extended if both parties are happy.

    We're a welcoming, fun family who welcome visitors from throughout Europe and further afield.

    If you think you might like to join our family on your travels, get in touch!

    Gillian xx

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Access to English, Welsh and Scottish traditions (I'm Scottish and Sean English). Great historical region covering several castles, tourist attractions, bridges and events. English speaking and could even try the Welsh language. Both cities are bustling and full of additional things to do.

  • Help

    Help

    7.30 - 9.15 week days to get children ready for school, complete their chores (reading music practice etc) and drop off at school. Collect from school, deliver to activities or bring home for games, homework or activities. Cook dinner for family (and sit with us obviously) later in the evening. Occasional babysitting may be required. Help around the house with general tidying and cleaning (as expected by all family members). Between 4-5 hours a day, Monday to Friday (but sometimes less required)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom, with en-suite within 5 bedroom house. Access and welcome to family areas such as kitchen and living room. Walking distance to town and travel system. Garden

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have covered local sites and travel in previous sections but if you are interested I can give more detailed information if required

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 851411658627