Help with our water mill garden near Poursac in Poitou Charentes, South West region of France

Country

France

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/03/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired nurse and I live with my husband in the South West region of France. We live in a watermill which has been restored inside but work on the external water wheel is planned for a future project. We have lived here for approximately 3 years and now feel that the garden area needs some up-dating. The aim of our present project is to clear a neglected garden bed and build a pond area in it's place. We already enjoy a selection of natural wildlife in our garden, such as red squirrels, many varieties of birds, including grey heron, kingfishers, ducks, finches, (all types), green, spotted and black woodpeckers to name just a few. However we hope that the introduction of a 'wild pond' will encourage more wildlife.

    We have one en-suite doubled bedroom with tea/coffee making facilities and a private lounge area overlooking the mill race.
    Both my husband and I are vegetarian and therefore we only feel comfortable providing vegetarian food, however, there is a good selection of bar/Tabacs and restaurants near by that can cater for all tastes and budgets.

    We are still in the process of learning the French language, so workawayers must have a good command of English if it is not their first language.

    In-case of allergies, I feel I should mention that we have a dog who is very guest friendly.

    There are many places of historic interest within the region including Chateaus, churches and beautiful villages. There are also a good selection of woodland walks and cycle tracks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Discover the pleasures of living within a peaceful French hamlet in the south western region of France. Have easy access to places of historic interest and local towns with regular markets and café culture. Please be aware, however, that own transport will be necessary.

  • Help

    Help

    We require help to clear a neglected flower bed and build a pond area in it's place

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One en-suite double bedroom, (double bed), with tea/coffee making facilities.
    Vegetarian breakfast & luncheon will be served in our kitchen/dinning room or garden depending on weather. Evening meal negotiable depending on need. Times of eating flexible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please be aware that your own transport is esstiential, but there are several woodland walks and cycle routs near-by to connect with places of historic interest and market towns.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

12th century church within our hamlet
double bedroom
'our Freddy'
internal mill wheel
en-suite shower room
View of grey heron from our kitchen window
The Mill race
The Mill House and garden

Host ref number: 847876562198