Help on our homestead in the beautiful Kootenay region of British Columbia and we'll share our skills with you

Country

Canada

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are homesteaders in the beautiful Kootenay region of British Columbia. We have a young daughter who keeps us busy. So we will be needing help tending our large vegetable garden during this time. We have a few animals including chickens. Grow most of our own food and live fairly self sufficiently. We are responsible, hard working environmentally friendly 35 year olds looking for help to accomplish our goals in exchange for teaching a variety of skills including carpentry, life skills, gardening, animal care, preserving food and cooking. I am a herbalist and a chef, and my husband is a carpenter and man of many skills. We live quite rurally, but there are lots of outdoor activities to enjoy on days off, plus, we have a lakefront home with our very own beach to share with you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think its nice for people coming from a busy city life, to see how quiet the world can be.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, wildcrafting, landscaping, building, animal care. Learning anything we are doing at the moment. Glass art, web help, childcare, woodworking. Cooking. Preserving.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live on 100 acres right on the shore of kootenay lake. There is a lovely cabin to stay in when there are no visitors, and a camper, and beautiful tent pads for warmer weather. It's like camping at home. Except we have internet,electricity and running water!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very rural but there is great community support and if you have a vehicle there are many activities such as hiking, swimming, all outdoor sports. The city of Nelson 90 minutes away is a Mecca for artists and musicians and is a lovely place to visit on days off. Or Kaslo 45 minutes away is a quaint town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 847854941226