1 / 4
new host  

Join our farmstead and help with general house maintenance, gardening and feeding pets in Twee Riviere, South Africa



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We live in a rural area of the Eastern Cape of South Africa, in Twee Riviere, Langkloof Valley. The Langkloof region is one of the largest deciduous fruit growing regions in SA. We are surrounded by apple and pear orchards, where the majority of the fruit is grown for sale to service the export of these fruits to various overseas countries,

    We have just under 8 hectares of land, where we grow veggies for ourselves, keep a few chickens for eggs, have 3 horses, 4 dogs and 4 cats. We rent out one of our cottages for holiday lets.The rest of the houses are lived in by and myself and 3 of our adult children, 22 21 and 18. We try to live a peaceful life, keeping busy with the things we enjoy, they mostly work from home , and it is my job to maintain the property and manage our activities here.
    There is a lot to do and we could certainly do with some help from general house maintenance, to garden work, helping with the horses and feeding pets, Your task would be to just come alongside us and assist in the daily goings on of living and working here on our farm and just to enjoy the process of being able to experience being in this beautiful part of the world

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There will be opportunity to meet people from the Twee Riviere community and visit some of their homes and see how they live and operate, many are self sustaining and use off grid methods

  • Help


    When we do fencing, its tough manual tasks, like digging holes and cementing poles into the ground.
    General maintenance which does not require super skills and most things can be learnt as you go along. Weeding and garden tasks, in the veggie patch. If you like to help with and interact with horses, my daughter has three and this is her passion.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    There is a one bedroomed, self catering cottage on the land with its own bathroom, wifi connection etc. There is also a caravan that can be used to live in, as well as empty rooms in two of our house, if you dont mind shared spaces. , During the week we will cook and eat together at the main house. Weekends we each see to ourselves for food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are far from a city, Port Elizabeth is 2 hours away to the east and George is 2 hours away to the west. Jeffreys Bay beach for swimming and surfing is 1 hour away. Transport will have to be arranged as there is no public transport to and from this place. We will arrange to fetch you from either George or Port Elizabeth airport. Or the Stormsriver busstop if travelling from Cape Town by bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 847323614872



Help me with daily life and experience beauty of Cape Town, South Africa
Permaculture projects and farm living in Emgwenya, South Africa