Help with some renovation help for our home in Brittany, France

  • Favourited 16 times
  • Last activity: 29 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Athelstan (53), Sylvie (48), Mathias (18), Louis (16) and Marceau (12) would be happy to welcome you in their house located near Quimper in Britanny (South Finistère). We are working abroad for Doctors Without Borders (Médecins Sans Frontières - MSF) and between two missions, we are spending time in our two houses that we gradually renovate.

    Our main house is located in Trégourez, in the coutryside. Currently, Athelstan is renovating a building that is part of the compound, and would enjoy some help in pointing stonework, laying beams, partitioning spaces, etc. We are also turning the current attic into a new bedroom, which will require installing a velux window, plastering and laying a parquet floor.

    We also own a house in Plouhinec, on the seafront, were we would like to create a second bathroom and where we can also easily accommodate some volunteers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are working for Doctors without Borders (Médecins Sans Frontières), so we are regularly travelling and living abroad (Congo, Afghanistan, Malawi, Burkina Faso, Laos, Georgia and others...), and we would be happy to continue sharing experiences and having a cultural exchange when we are back in France between two missions.

    Living with our family can also be a good experience for people who want to practice french language.

    Athelstan has a degree in carpentry and woodworking, as well as good skills in electricity, plumbing, mechanics, etc... He is happy to share his knowledge but of course also to learn more from visitors.

    We have three workshops at home : one for painting, one for mechanics and one for woodwork, so if the visitors are interested in one of those activities, it's a very good opportunity for exchange.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have two houses: our main house, in Tregourez, where we live most of the time, and a vacation house on the seafront.

    The house where we curretnly live is a compound made of different buildings. In the main house, there's a need to transform the attic into a new bedroom (insulation, small masonry, repointing, coatings, plaster boards, painting, etc...). In one of the other building, there's a need for major renovation including pointing stonework, laying beams, partitioning spaces, plumbing, etc.

    In our house on the seafront, small renovation works are needed (remove wallpaper, painting, etc...) and we would also like to transform one of the rooms into a bathroom.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would be interested in learning more spanish, so that we could also go on mission with MSF in spanish speaking countries

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is located in the middle of a small town, in the countryside, near Quimper. On the ground floor we have three workshops (painting, mechanics and woodwork), as well as a little bar and a pool table. On the first floor (150m2), we have the living room, the kitchen and one bathroom. On the second floor (150m2), we have three rooms, a large corridor with 4 beds, and a bathroom. We can make one of our rooms available to accommodate our visitors. The bathroom will have to be shared.

    For the food, visitors can either use the kitchen and the supplies we will buy to make their own food, or they can share the family meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    South Finistère is a beautiful area were people can enjoy wild coastlines and historical towns. We can offer transportation to different places of interest in the area if there is no public transport available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a very good WiFi connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    In our house in Trégourez, there is a big courtyard that can easily accomodate a campervan. In Plouhinec, there's no space for a campervan at our house, but it should be possible to station nearby

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are welcome but we would like the dogs to stay at the groundfloor of the house (or in the courtyard/garden), and not come up to the first and second floor where we have our living room and sleeping rooms.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 245353672366

Feedback (5)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)