Help us become self sufficient & live off grid in Bideford, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Bought the place last year. Need lots of help to get the place functioning and looking good as well as being productive.
    Trying to be as self sufficient as possible. We follow no dig and permaculture methods for growing our veggies & fruit.
    We are meat eaters and keep animals such as pigs, sheep, chickens, Ducks, Turkeys, Horses etc...
    We have rivers with fishing rights and we border a nature reserve. We are about 15 mins to closest beach.
    Based in North Devon close to Clovelly, Westward Ho, Bideford

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested they can learn about maintaining old buildings.
    We can offer advice on growing veg & fruit, cultivating the land , being as organic as possible, sustainability and environmentally friendly, we have animals which need care and attention, we have beautiful rivers and river meadows which we are allowing to stay undeveloped and natural. Lots if wild life. Close to beaches and surfing, great for cyclists too.
    Very quiet rural , calm , peacefull location surrounded by farms.
    Dream is to build off grid dwellings

  • Help

    Help

    A couple or single handy person with good DIY
    400 year old Farm house and Farm buildings all need attention,
    Lime & Cob walls on some of the building
    Animal shelters to build
    Animal enclosures to maintain including fencing etc
    Day care of animals
    General maintenance , painting, decorating , gardening, tree cutting, hay cutting & bailing , Ditch digging, compost building and general yard & farm help.
    Watering all produce in summer months
    Cooking & Housework if desired
    Planting seeds , ground preparing for veggies, harvesting produce, preserving and storing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English , hubby is fluent in German , some Spanish & some italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 bed static mobile home , clean @ all mid cons like microwave & TV, free food , home grown veggies and eggs. Space for tents or campa van I can provide you with food to make your own or eat with us or combination of the two .
    We're easy going & flexible
    Pets accepted but to be agreed in advance.
    We also have a barn with a wood burner which with some imagination could be cosy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beaches, surfing, nature, fishing, riding, lots going on locally
    push bikes provided , lifts to the village can be agreed.
    Two pubs both 5 mins away..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day x 5 days a week


Host ref number: 845976173946