Share our life experiences at our home in Kauai, Hawaii, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 1734 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    58  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A very well traveled, well opinionated couple would like to share life experiences at our place (this is NOT a farm) in Kauai Hawaii. Since we have been blessed with a beautiful place we like sharing it with people who want a break from the routine.
    We have a hospitality ministry (and an "I know best" attitude).
    We help the church by providing accommodation when it is needed for visiting pastors, speakers, musicians and others.
    We also like helping the church food bank with fresh fruit that is available seasonally.

    You should not be allergic to mangoes or oranges, limes and lemons, pomegranates, bananas, lichees, green leafy vegetables and herbs.

    We have interests in vegetarian cooking and growing our own food. We are interested in helping people out with what resources we have available.

    Help around the house is currently our top priority, but as the seasons go by that changes. The majority of the tasks are related to house maintenance and yard chores. Please contact us if you have any skills in this area.

    The minimum stay is one month NOT one week nor 10 days or anything less than a month. Please have the correct necessary documents (aka US citizenship or a green card) to work LEGALLY in the USA . A visitors visa or ESTA does not allow you to work legally in the USA
    Aloha

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about some of the social and work experiences we picked up and how they would apply to you.
    Learn about tropical plants especially those used in healing
    Learn cooking skills especially vegan / vegetarian cooking, Indian cooking IF you request to be taught
    Depending on the weather and your interests, you could learn sailing, kayaking, fishing and catching crabs
    Get an insight into inter-cultural relationships. .
    Use of everyday herbs and simple alternative healing to treat various common ailments....especially useful for travelers

  • Help

    Help

    Our primary focus right now is house and yard cleaning. What is your experience in these areas?
    Fruit picking in season with possibility of chopping and freezing fruit. Yard help if needed. Housecleaning and maintenance.
    Dog walking and playing with dogs and occasional dog care.
    We have multiple avocado, banana, coconuts, custard apple, chikoos, lemons, limes, lychee, mango, oranges, pomegranate trees and generous neighbors with breadfruit, star fruit .
    That being said, this is NOT a farm nor is it a ranch.
    No child care needed

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Studio apartment with its own bathroom and kitchen with cooking utensils. We provide seasonal fruit grown on the property. We have multiple avocado, banana, calamansi, coconuts, custard apple, chikoos, lemons, limes, lychee, mango, oranges, pomegranates, and generous neighbors with breadfruit, star fruit, grape fruit etc.
    You may have to share space with other workawayers though we try to avoid that happening.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Centrally located in Kauai. A rural setting within a 1 to 3 miles (2 to 5 km) of the restaurants, grocery, stores, hospital and churches.
    We have dogs so you must love dogs.
    No child care needed contrary to what it shows. I don't know how "Project involves children " popped up. It does not.
    A visitors or students Visa is not acceptable to work in the US
    You MUST be vaccinated against Covid-19 and get booster shots if recommended

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 - 4 hours / 5 days

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)





































Host ref number: 845481184599