Help with farm activities and other projects in Kilkenny, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 228 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    59.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Fintan , I am a 26 year old farmer from the south east of Ireland. Together with dad we farm a large flock of 350 ewes as well as having crops and cattle while in 2021 we will be selling vegetables in a local veg box scheme so we are working towards this too . Our farm is currently in the second year of organic conversion and we aim to diversify as much as possible over the coming years in order to create a vibrant healthy farming life. We have a big family with lots of members dotted around Kilkenny and across Ireland.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What we are offering is the opportunity to come and stay with us for a while, get to learn the skills of animal husbandry, animal nutrition and animal breeding programs. On top of this its a great opportunity to see the processes involved in organic conversion as well as take part in farm diversification. We live in a small village called Freshford which is situated 15 minutes from the large town of Kilkenny. Tourism wise Kilkenny is ideally situated half way between Cork and Dublin. Its also a good opportunity to improve your English.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Although spring is the most enjoyable time of the year on a sheep farm it is also the busiest. We are looking for someone to come and stay and help out with the lambing and other farm activities. Alternatively throughout the year we have various projects going on at the farm, we are renovating some old farm houses, running a small organic garden and in the summer months we are very busy with our burger stand.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation would be in our home house. A workaway visitor would have their own room, a shared bathroom, access to Kitchen, living area and all other facilities you can expect from a family home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As for activities, if you fancy night life Kilkenny is quite a lively spot with many bars and night clubs, there is also the pubs in Freshford often with live music if you prefer a more local atmosphere. Kilkenny is a popular city for tourists as it is Built around the castle. With the aid of google i urge you to see the castle and look at the other attractions kilkenny provides. Keeping in mind Cork and Dublin both 1.5 hour bus rides trips to these destinations are easy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 844719183383