Help a friendly retired couple with our horses, garden and woodland in Co. Clare, Ireland.

  • Favourited 32 times
  • Last activity: 12 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Sorry we are fully booked with Workawayers from May to October 2024.

    Hi, we are a retired couple, Helen and Nick, living in beautiful rural County Clare and need some help with equine care and/or heavy duty gardening and woodland maintenance. We are friendly people and have a large, comfortable historic home.
    When we were students we both travelled and worked abroad and our grown up children have both worked abroad, our son did Workaway in Argentina and our daughter is currently in Australia. We are a retired lawyer and doctor.
    We have four dogs, five ponies, two cats. Over the summer Helen needs to have surgery and so won’t be able to do as much as usual so we need some extra help.
    Our ponies are stabled and need turning out, bringing in and the stables mucking out.
    We have woodland which needs management in the summer when the ground is dry, cutting fallen trees and logs and tidying. This is heavy, physical work. So we’d like help with both of those things.
    We’d love to host either one person or a couple.
    Non smoker(s) please.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ireland is a beautiful country and we live in one of the most scenic parts. Many tourist sites are accessible from here in around an hour or less.
    We have hosted au pairs and foreign students in the past and will enjoy speaking with you and helping you with your English if you are still learning.
    You could also gain experience helping with horses, and with gardening and woodland management as well as general maintenance.

  • Help

    Help

    You would need to love dogs especially. Ours are very friendly and energetic.
    It would be an advantage to have experience with horses and ponies but if you have livestock experience on a farm that would be enough.
    You need to be physically fit and quite strong to help with the woodland and garden maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Attached to the main house, between the garden and stable yard, we have a small house with its own sitting room with tv and wifi. Upstairs is a bedroom with double bed (135cm) downstairs is a small kitchen with some cooking facilities (small hob, air fryer, slow cooker, coffee maker, kettle, sink, fridge) and a bathroom with shower. We will provide your food, you can eat sometimes with us and sometimes in your house. You can also use the washing machine and dryer in the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is in a very rural area. We are about 3km from the nearest village.
    We are 30minutes from Shannon airport, Limerick city and Ennis. We are about 75minutes from Galway city, the Cliffs of Moher, Doolin, Lisdoonvarna, and Lahinch.
    Dublin is about 2hours from Limerick by train , Cork is about 90 minutes.
    Nearby (5minutes) is the East Clare Way walking route, it’s 10 minutes in the car to access the Twelve o’Clock Hills, the Wild Atlantic Way is about 75 minutes by car.
    We can offer you a bicycle and also occasional use of a car ( providing you have a clear driving licence). There is a bus from the village to Limerick city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good fibre broadband here. It should be good enough for working, I’m not sure if you’d be able to down/upload lots of visual media but documents etc are fine.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is space to park a large vehicle in our stable yard. This is next to the entrance to your accommodation. We do not have electric hook up.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 844275365143

Feedback

Vegetable garden care at our home in Co Kildare, Ireland
Help our family with childminding in, Co. Limerick, Ireland