Come and help us around the house in Rockville, United States

Country

United States

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married gay couple living in the Maryland suburbs of Washington, DC. John is a busy professional usually working downtown and Mark works in the county school system with special needs students. Mark has three adult children, including one son who has Down's Syndrome and lives here part-time (generally for 2-3 weeks at a time). We are very busy with work, Special Olympics events, other family obligations, and traveling, and are embarking on a major house renovation project planned for Spring 2020. That requires a lot of sorting and moving things, rearranging the garage to accommodate the furniture, etc. Depending on the season, we may also need help with yard work. We are used to hosting travelers and especially enjoy cultural exchanges, and we enjoy getting to know people. Some of our best friends have come from such exchanges through traveling or hosting travelers for the past 12 years plus. We've had good experiences with our Workaway guests so far.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    John has traveled to more than 50 countries and served in the Peace Corps, so he is happy to share travel stories and tips. Mark has a wealth of experience with the special needs population and has lived in Rockville for more than 50 years. He is an excellent cook and enjoys a communal meal. We both love wine, beer, good coffee, chocolate and great conversation, though we do try to eat healthy.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a lot of travel coming up and need to do a lot of decluttering ourselves before we can ask for help. Once we get closer to our house renovation move-out date, we'll need help with moving things to prepare for work and after the work, cleaning and maybe painting.

    In general, there's always house cleaning to do. Cooking, shopping, and housesitting would come in handy at times. I'm sure there will be computer-related projects, too. There are also some gardening/yard care tasks that may be seasonal (lawn mowing in the summer, weeding in the spring, snow shoveling in the winter, raking leaves in the autumn).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (medium), Uzbek (medium), French (beginner)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a single family house on a quiet street. The guest will be in their own bedroom, with a queen bed and access to closet and drawer space. It is directly across from the bathroom. We have WiFi and the guest would receive access to that. We do not have cable, but the guest can use our Netflix and Amazon Prime accounts for watching shows. We can offer at least one meal a day, possibly more depending on the schedule and dietary needs. This is most likely to be the evening meal when we are all more likely to be at home. If the guest wishes to cook their own food, we have plenty of utensils and can help make space to store things. We would be happy to have the guest cook a meal for us if we purchase the food. We do not typically eat bread or processed foods. John usually makes a fruit & vegetable smoothie for breakfast. The accommodation may change based on the status of the house renovation. We'll update accordingly. *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️PLEASE NOTE THAT WE CANNOT ACCEPT CIGARETTE SMOKERS*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located 10 minutes walk from the Metro, which will take you to downtown Washington, DC in 30-45 minutes. We are also a 12-15 minute walk to the town center, which has shops, restaurants, bars, etc. The train station can take you directly to Union Station in less than an hour. There are also bus routes to several destinations. The closest airports are DCA via the Metro, and BWI, which has a shuttle from the Southwest terminal to Shady Grove Metro station, just one stop away from ours. The closest attraction of interest are the gravestones of F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. If the timing is right, we'd love to show you around the area. We enjoy going out to eat once in a while, perhaps visit a museum or going hiking nearby. We do have a lot of obligations that take up time, and of course we enjoy travel, so that is also a priority that may take us away from the area. Our neighbors are very friendly and we look forward to our annual block party every August.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    1-5 hours a day, 2-5 days a week

Front yard (Spring/Summer 2017)
John (left) and Mark (right)



Host ref number: 844166526541