Come and join our sharing community of farmers and growers in rural central Virginia, USA


United States

Favourited 52 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a small, young income-sharing commune in rural central Virginia, nestled between the more established communes Acorn and Twin Oaks and near a couple other small communes. We are primarily farmers, growing on about 2-3 acres of land. We're certified organic and we grow food for ourselves, but especially focus on seed crops, variety trials, and vegetable breeding projects. We recently received a grant for a muskmelon and cucumber trialing and breeding project, with which we especially need help.

    But there's more to do here than just farming! We also have a small house building project that has been neglected and we would greatly appreciate the help of someone clever with construction who might enjoy moving it along a bit. Cooking and food preservation, are a part of our lives that gets bigger as the harvest season comes along. And in late summer and fall there's all kinds of cool seed saving work that happens. And there's always doing fun educational things with the kid! We also love connecting with the other communes nearby and you could explore plugging into their projects while you're here too. So much to do! And when we're not working... we like to read aloud, walk in the woods, paint, knit, mediate, and just hang out and laugh.

    Currently our community consists of two adults and one child (11), though we have another potential adult member arriving in May. We are also home to a cat and a dog, both very snuggly. We share a communal house on three acres and farm a large parcel nearby. As an intentional community and member of the Federation of Egalitarian Communities, we seed to live by egalitarian values. This mean that we value all work equally (no CEO salaries around here!) and all individuals equally. We are open to people of all races, gender identifications, religious beliefs, all of it, and we have no tolerance for violence in speech or action. In short, peace and love - we are hippies, after all!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We want to involve helpers as much as possible in every aspect of growing, harvesting, and processing the organic seed crops we grow, and invite them to participate in maintenance and evaluation of variety trials and breeding trials. Part of our mission is to teach people who are interested in learning about growing for seed and plant breeding, so we will offer a teaching and discussion session each week and will help provide additional reading and study material for those who want it. There will also be opportunities for field trips to other farms and workshops for helpers staying a little longer.

    Beyond farm experience, helpers will have the opportunity to experience life in an intentional community and connect with members of the four other nearby communes.

  • Help


    We're looking for helpers throughout the growing season and then especially into harvest season, so anytime May to November. Helpers are asked to contribute about 25 hours a week, which could be in the field, processing seed, processing food, working on our poor building project, going on field trips to pitch in at the nearby communities, or other projects that might arise, depending on what's happening at any given time.

    Although we're the size of an individual household, we're operating with an eye towards being a growing intentional community, sharing income and resources. This means that part of what we're doing is establishing a culture of good communication and fostering individual and interpersonal growth.

    We're especially looking for helpers who are excited about working with and learning about plants and seeds, and who love being outside and working outside. The work can be physically demanding, and it gets hot here in the summer. Prior farming experience is lovely, but not essential. If you're excited about learning, we're excited to teach you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, some French, Spanish, and Romanian

  • Accommodation


    We can generally put up helpers in a bed in a room in our house, either alone or in a shared bunk room, depending on our space. Camping is also an option for those who are outdoorsy! They also have full access to all common areas in the house. Food is provided, everyone can use the kitchen, and we often cook dinner communally. We can easily accommodate a vegetarian or vegan diet, though a high meat diet would be harder - we pretty much only get locally raised meat and not very often. We aim to provide for all day to day needs, excepting medical expenses, and a helper with a license and good driving record may be granted access to our vehicles.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can connect with the nearby communities for social events such as parties, reading groups, yoga, group meditation, and plenty more. Louisa county is rural and beautiful, and the cities of Richmond and Charlottesville are about 45 minutes away by car, if you want more urban culture, and there are often rides available to either.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A homeschool group touring our greenhouse
Cookie takes advantage of the shade under the tractor
Did we mention that our pets love to cuddle?
Beet seedlings!
African Drum Gourds - on of our seed crops
Raz, having a cuddle
Sometimes you just gotta have a beard
Transplanting onions
Spring beds ready for carrots!
Our beloved circa 1950s Farmall tractor

Host ref number: 843475869814