updated  

Be surrounded by gorgeous vistas near Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 348 times
  • Last activity: 30/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is situated in the rolling hills of Northumberland County, a 10 minute drive north of Cobourg. The view is magnificent and the gardens are gorgeous. We live a 10 minute drive north of a tourist town with a beautiful beach. Just 5 minutes north there is a great lake for fishing. On occasion we load everyone in our 6 seater boat for an evening cruise of this gorgeous lake.

    We have many projects on the farm including a vegetable garden that supports 4 families.

    This winter we will be working on a renovation to our old farm house...including installing an earthen floor. In the spring we will be starting a renovation/addition that will incorporate many alternative building techniques including earthblock walls, earth plasters, earth bags, earth block floors, homemade paint etc. For the winter season we prefer to have helpers come with some history building and carpentry. Since the work involves learning skills we would like helpers to commit to at least a month.

    We have developed a compressed earth block and straw bale hybrid building system, which is the first of its kind in Canada. There are two houses on our farm that have been built using this technique. Henry is always eager to share his experience and knowledge.

    We really enjoy getting to know people and watching the helpers form a wonderful group and hang out together. Everyone becomes a part of the family. The atmosphere on our farm is relaxed, warm and accommodating. We enjoy bonfires, games, cooking in our pizza oven and music events. The sound of laughter and good times echoes over the hills. In the summer after work a swim in our above ground pool is a usual event. We have created a small community of family and friends living next to us so there are always people about, including some adorable little children. Our daughter and her husband practice regenerative agriculture on our land, raising sheep, pigs and chickens.

    In the warmer weather we spend most of our time in the "dome", an outdoor shelter complete with kitchen, dining area, and ping pong table and darts. It's a great hang out spot. However, since the colder weather is coming we have moved into the farmhouse for our meals.

    While you are here you will mainly be a part of the many gatherings that take place on our farm. We are surrounded by a very friendly community and we all share similar values of living sustainably, walking kindly on our earth.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Alternative, sustainable building techniques and ideas, medicinal herb education, organic gardening, production of skin care products using our home grown organic plants/berries, communal living with amazing volunteers.

  • Help

    Help

    Hours are flexible and varied according to chores, weather, etc. and are approx. 5 days a week, 5 hours a day...including a share of the household tasks...ie dishes. Helpers are included at our meal times and have access to all our facilities including internet. Our helpers often become good friends, many returning in the following years. We enjoy making music, playing games, and having lots of parties around the camp fire in the evenings.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom in our farm house or in a cabin.
    Our diet is garden based, some fish and home raised chicken.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our volunteers have access to bicycles and often bike to Cobourg. Cobourg has many festivals in the summer. Our family lives around us and with four other households there is always a lift to catch into town or a return home. There is also a lake close by that is great for fishing. We love taking hikes across the countryside and enjoy many campfires with our helpers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 832929753671

Feedback (34)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












































Help us with the daily tasks of our hostel in Gaspésie, Quebec, Canada
Help with animals in Centreville, Ontario, Canada