1 / 5

Learn how to live sustainably and enjoy the breathtaking views at our place in Platsa, Greece

  • Favourited 110 times
  • Last activity: 6 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    After 30 years of taming a rock strewned olive grove, our home is 95% finished. We are off the grid but have all the necessary facilities to lead a comfortable life. We don't want to work for another 30 years to finish the project and will need your help in buidling terrace walls, clearing rough spaces. Set 1km away from the main road but still close to the sea and villages around. We would like to share our way of life with people who appreciate the simple things. As non Greeks we speak roughly 10 languages between us, but certainly Greece is our home. There is plenty to read on our shelves, breathtaking views and lots of individual beaches to enjoy.
    The 2023-24 works that we would like to complete are the following

    1. Prune olive trees and other various gardening jobs in the grounds of Daniel’s house
    2. Various painting jobs on other properties belonging to Sasha and Daniel

    These are hard physical jobs that cannot really be done in the heat of the summer, so we would prefer to have volunteers in the winter, spring and autumn.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How to live sustainably and being offgrid with solar electicity and rain water, that will entail managing the resources available. Daniel has been living in Greece for 39 years and knows the flora and fauna. Learn to build a dry stone wall for some or learning the actions needed at different times of the year in an olive grove for others

  • Help


    The stonemason (the host) needs a strong pair of hands to shift the stones to the site of construction and during the building, during this process you will get to understand the intricacies of working with a natural element. But should you not feel up to this type of work there is a lot of clearing up that needs to be done

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    We have accommodation in the next village Pigi which is walking distance to Daniel’s home. Due to the dry weather we don’t have enough water to host any guests. It is a family summer holiday home within the village.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is recommended that have for your stay a means of transport, moped or bicycle for the fit ones!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 832391591552

Feedback (5)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Short-term helper to help with restoring an old house in a Greek village in Crete, Greece
Help me renovate my house on Greek Island.