Come stay with us and enjoy the nature on Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Tilman and Elodie, in love with Vancouver Island, we decided to accomplish our dream and move to Nanaimo 2 years ago. We are from Germany and France, moved to Canada a few years ago, after 3 years travelling the world with our backpack. We love exploring, camping, surfing, trekking… All the fun outdoor sports we can do on this island! Cooking is also part of our hobbies, we like to invite friends over (not at the moment with covid), share and have fun.

    Tilman is running a construction company and I am transitioning into web dev.

    We have a big house that we are sharing with roomates, and we need help to accomplish a few projects over the summer. Our house is newly renovated, we are located 15 minutes walk to downtown Nanaimo, shops, bus station. Also we really close to the ocean, you can actually see the ocean from upstairs. We have nice yard, with a new terraces where you can chill, and we also have some veggies growing in the garden. We also have bikes and paddle-boards available to use.

    We are looking for 1 or 2 person, we are not very picky with the working hours, you can manage as you wish. We will try to accommodate as much has possible.

    We do have a strict policy with respect and cleaning. If you wish to stay at our place, you will have to respect the place and people leaving in the house, not be too loud, and clean after yourself at all time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Tilman and I were workawayers ourself when we arrived in Canada, and loved the concept! During our travels around the world we always had amazing experiences when we were hosted, and now that we have our house we feel that is our turn to host and share with people!
    We are happy to share meals, help you visit the area, maybe go surfing or/and fishing (we have a boat).

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for 1 or 2 person to accomplish the following :
    - clean around the house
    - empty the crawl space in our basement that is full with construction material and some garbage
    - clean the siding of our house
    - help with the garden
    - help with little reno projects (sanding chairs and painting...)

    and maybe more depending on the applicants :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with a double bed, recently renovated

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you can explore the island, go for a swim to the ocean or the river, go hiking, camping...
    We do not have a car that you can use, but can give you bikes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection and have a desk in the room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park your camper in front of our house outside. The parking place is not secured or close, it is open to the street.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Eventually, but it will depend of the pet. and we will have a strict cleaning policy

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 831589678387