Help our family with language and music practice in Malaga, Spain

  • Favourited 61 times
  • Last activity: 16 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My wife is a consultant and I am a high school teacher. We have both studied away from home and lived in different cities, including long periods in England, Greece or France.

    Our daughters love meeting new people, and places and experiences, as well as playing, having fun and learning new things (music, cooking, sports, games… whatever!). In addition, they are very polite and respectful.

    We are two open-minded, friendly people, sincere and straightforward. Concerned about offering a clean, tidy and beautiful house, we will be happy to welcome you into our family so that you can feel at home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Malaga is the capital of the Costa del Sol, in Andalusia. With more than 300 days of sunshine a year, and always with mild temperatures, it is possible to enjoy its beaches practically all year round. But Malaga is much more than sun and beach and golf courses... All this our city can offer you:

    -International atmosphere, mixed with the party and friendliness of the people of Malaga and Andalusia.
    -An unbeatable offer of bars and restaurants: with very affordable prices you can enjoy the famous local and Spanish cuisine: sardine “espetos” (skewers), fried fish, paella, croquettes, “porra antequerana”...
    -A rich cultural heritage: Roman Theater, Arab Alcazaba, Gibralfaro Castle, Cathedral...
    -More than 40 museums: Picasso, Pompidou, Carmen Thyssen…
    -Theaters (Cervantes, Soho by Antonio Banderas...), concerts all year round, Film Festival in March.
    -Commercial areas: Calle Larios and historic center; Plaza Mayor outlet (with leading international brands).
    -Local festivities that attract visitors from all over Spain: Holy Week processions (April), August Fair.

    In addition, Malaga is perfectly connected: with a very important international airport (143 destinations); a train station (connected with high speed to Madrid, among others); and, by road, very close to other jewels of Andalusia such as Seville (2 hrs), Granada (1h15), Córdoba (1h30), Cádiz (2h30) or Ronda (1h20).

    If you like the mountains, it is also close to several natural parks, hiking trails such as the Caminito del Rey (1h) or the Sierra Nevada ski resort (1h45).

    And if what you want is to take Spanish classes, the best teaching centers in Malaga are in this area of ​​the city (East), which is where we live. Malaca Instituto is literally two minutes from our house. The “Centro Internacional de Español” (from the University of Malaga), the “Escuela Internacional Cervantes” or EF (Education First), are 20-30 minutes away on foot (or even less by public transport).

    Finally, my wife and I usually make many plans with friends and family: beach, walks in the countryside and the city, weekend outings, birthday parties, lunches/dinners at home... We will be happy for you to form part of them you too.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Can you sing? Can you play the guitar/piano? We are looking for a young woman that would like to teach our daughters (in English).

    Our daughters are starting to learn to sing and play the guitar (the oldest) and to play the piano (the youngest). And we want them to learn English. So, if you are a young woman that can teach them music in English, you would be perfect for us!

    They understand English, especially the older one. Since they were little, they are used to watching cartoons and movies in English; and they continually listen to songs in English... some they even know by heart from having listened to them so many times (the eldest reads the lyrics on Spotify).
    This would be one hour and a half or two hours a day, but it doesn't have to be every day... it doesn't have to be an obligation for them either, the important thing is that they enjoy it and have fun. So other days, it would be enough to draw and play at home or in the playground (in front of where we live) with them... but always in English, of course.

    This would be the main task, but there would also be other occasional tasks:
    -Some days, take them to and/or bring them from school (it is a 3-minute walk from the house).
    -Helping with small tasks around the house: tidying up, shopping at nearby stores... and it would be perfect if you know how to cook and can prepare one or two meals a week.
    -Being a babysitter, 2 times a month at most: giving the girls dinner and putting them to bed if we go out at night.

    In total, it would not be more than 3 hours a day, 5 days a week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a large house with a garden and pool in a neighborhood in the east of Malaga, Cerrado de Calderón.
    The largest bedroom in the house, with a huge bathroom, will be yours (have a look at the photos). It is on the upper floor, with a lot of privacy. We normally stay most of the time in the ground floor, where our bedrooms and the living room and kitchen are.

    As for meals, we like traditional Spanish cuisine and buy a lot of fresh fruits and vegetables. We try to eat a variety of foods and we love trying new flavors. In any case, we are sure we will be able to adapt to your preferences as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

Host ref number: 831225393887

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Join our nature-loving family and help with small renovation projects and gardening on our farm in Cantabria, Spain
Help us to reform a small town and fight against depopulation in Meaus, Galicia, Spain