Help us build our permaculture homestead in the midst of nature in central Transylvania, Romania

Country

Romania

updated  

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    We are Eli and Ali and our four young Kids. After 3 years of travelling Europe, we have finally found and settled on a beautiful 3.6ha property near Hunedoara in Romania. We're completely Off-Grid and live 2km of dirt-track away from the next village.
    Step by step we are building our dream of a self-sufficient permaculture homestead. The life we chose isn't always easy and we still have a long way to go and a lot more to learn, but we are very motivated to do so because we are convinced that there are so many ways of improving the harmony and living more sustainable and in peace with earth and eachother.

    We have great plans and ideas for our property and we hope to find some awesome, likeminded helpers who enjoy the peace and quiet and the beauty of our wild surroundings!

    We are unschoolers (free learners / life learners) and love to learn by doing and experimenting. We live in a tiny old house with an old stable next to it. We have a garden, grow all our crops from seeds and are constantly working on expanding our growing space and creating more bio-diversity. We want to learn more about prennial edibles and wild edible plants too. We are passionate about sustainable, holistic, healthy and natural living, preserving food, different hand-crafts, natural building, living with animals and learning in general.
    We are vegetarians and currently share our land with our cats, dogs, guinea pigs, rabbits, chickens, peacocks, goats and horses.

    Our property lies nestled in the hills of Transilvania and is surrounded by old, partially overgrown orchards. If you walk over the higher hills south of our property, you get into the natural park Gradistea Muncelului in which there are ruins of ancient Dacian settlements, so there is plenty of interesting places to discover.

    We have a small solar system to charge our phones, laptop and use other small devices, for bigger machines, we use a generator. We live very simply, close to nature and without most of modern conveniencies: We use a composting toilet (bucket system), usually shower outside with cold water - there is a solar camping shower for those who want warm water and have the patience to wait for it - our water comes from a source above our property, though it dries out at times (but there are other sources in the area, where we can get drinking water from), we have no fridge or freezer, our washingmashine runs on cold water and we use our phones for internet access.

    We hope to build a small (loose) community with likeminded people and families in this area in the future, for now it is only us.

    Except from the existing old house and stable, we are building our homestead completely from scratch. Some days we work a lot, others we are not so productive. We have a bit of a daily rythm because of our animals but otherwise we mostly decide spontaneously on what we want to do, even though our to-do lists are set to last a few years. ;-D

    We are pretty new to workaway and we are excited to meet wonderful people and families here, learn and work together and enjoy the beauty of this place together!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are constantly learning new things and invite you to learn with us!

    From our first three years of being here, we have gathered knowledge about various homesteading skills. Some examples are: (No-dig & inground) gardening, living off-grid, animal husbandry, preserving food in different ways without refrigeration. Eli can also teach you to crochet and create handmade jewelery. There are so many things we want to learn. Some, we are just getting started with, some, we can already share knowledge about.

    We speak Swiss-German, German, English, a tiny bit of French (though it's rather bad at the moment) and are (slowly!) learning Romanian.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The main jobs for which we really need help currently are:

    - Cutting back all the brambles along the border of the property and clearing parts of the land
    - Fencing the whole property
    - Gathering logs for the costruction of a strawbale roundhouse
    - Building a strawbale roundhouse (after we gathered all the necessary materials)
    - Collecting horse manure from the pastures to amend the gardens
    - Weeding and preparing the gardens for next year
    - Fencing our new garden
    - Gathering and making firewood
    - Digging a pond
    - Creating a space to store our harvests (in autumn)

    There are many other small and spontaneous projects and things that need to be done throughout the year, depending on the season. Some examples are: Getting up hay and animal feed in large quantities, cutting back trees, preparing everything for winter, taking care of the garden, weeding, harvesting food and preserving the harvests, etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Romanian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We'd love to improve our Romanian and can teach you Swiss German or German and probably some English too, though we're not perfect at it ourselfs.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a caravan to offer you as accomondation. Currently there is no heating system installed in the caravan, but we have a woodburning stove and the necessary fixtures that are waiting to be installed in there, so you'll be warm and snug during cold days and nights.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our property is only reachable with a 4x4 car (and only when the weather is dry), otherwise one can always walk up and down. We have a "street car" down in the village and an off-road car for here. But we really only drive when the ground is either dry or frozen solid. Otherwise we walk (the way to the village is through the hils and very picturesque).

    The next bigger towns are Deva (30km) and Hunedoara (25km) and Oraștie (20km), there are two tiny shops in the village that cover basic needs and are also small pubs. There's a smaller town where you can find everything you need, about 15km from us.

    There are the Dacian ruins to be discovered, lots of wildlife to enjoy in the area and vast and beautiful landscapes to be explored.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have lots of pets ourself so if you bring your own, we will have to slowly and carefully introduce them to eachother and we would really apprechiate it, that none of our animals get eaten by yours (we have chickens, peacocks, rabbits and guineapigs running around freely at times) but other than that, nothing stands in the way of you bringing your furry or feathery friends.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week but we are not strict about this and think that we will find the best solutions together!




Host ref number: 828228568681