updated  

Help our family with our DIY projects in Marco de Canaveses, Portugal

  • Favourited 11 times
  • Last activity: 25 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Miracy (Trinidad & Tobago), Jeroen (The Netherlands), our son Lucas is 11 and our daughter Mila is 7. We are currently living in our campervan whilst renovating a house and a ruin 1 hour away from Porto in the city of Marco de Canaveses.

    The property includes an old vineyard with olive tress and various fruit trees. There is enough space to accommodate a few campervans. Our project is still in the early stages and we just need a few extra hands to assist with the garden and general maintenance of the property.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multilingual family from the Netherlands and the Caribbean. We have embraced our new life in Portugal and enjoy sharing our experiences in a beautiful hillside environment.

    We both are creative artistic people who are passionate about our environment. We are also part of a growing international community within our area and the neighbouring city of Amarante.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Currently our focus will be to finish our bathroom and renovate the rest of the house. Anyone enthusiastic about architecture, renovating houses, or just improving your building skills are welcome to assist us.

    This space is ideal for gardening enthusiasts and van lifers. So general clearing of the grass and maintenance of the outdoor surroundings.

    We also love cooking and sharing our meals together, once our vegetable garden is up and running we will utilize the produce for our consumption.

    The tasks are flexible and project based, you are free to choose what you feel most comfortable with.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are interested in improving our Portuguese, French, Spanish and any new language is a plus.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is modest as we are still renovating our house.
    We have many areas which are ideal for camping. We have tents and bedding available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many hiking trails, beautiful rivers and the lovely villages to visit. The city of Porto is 1 1/2 to 2 hours by train. We love meeting new people and enjoy exchanging ideas. However, if you prefer, our space allows lots of privacy as well. We also prefer non-smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accommodate campervans and any vehicle up to 3500kg. From the main road the property is accessed via cobble-stone roads. We DO NOT allow people pulling caravans to visit us, as it seems a bit challenging to make certain manoeuvres.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 494691538255

Feedback

Help out at a vegan animal sanctuary near the Serra da Estrela National Park, central Portugal
Looking for help on our off-grid herbalist farm in Central Portugal