Help develop an Eco ranch in the desert, La Paz, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 337 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Marjorie and Jean-Christophe a french couple, we have the project of the development of a desert eco ranch in Mexico. We have been living in La Paz for 12 years and want to make our place a place to relax, with a permanent contact with nature
    Our concept is 100% ecologic as our energy is produced 100% with solar panels, we have dry toilets and water restrictions (we go for water at the neigbour´s well)
    The ranch is located in the heart of a natural environment surrounded by cacti and just in front of the sea of Cortez)
    We have 6 dogs, 3 cats, 2 goats, 5 chickens and 5 horses. We are interested in traditional constructions (wood, adobe) and also in permaculture.


    Nous avons pour projet mon mari et moi de développer un concept de ranch écologique au Mexique. Nous sommes installés depuis douze ans à La Paz et voulons faire de notre lieu un lieu de détente, en contact permanent avec la nature.
    Notre concept 100% écologique est alimenté 100% par panneaux solaires, nous avons des toilettes seches et des restrictions en eau (nous allons nous même la chercher dans le puit de notre voisin.)
    Le ranch est situé en pleine nature au milieu des cactus et en bord de mer. Nous avons 6 chiens, trois chats, 2 chevre, 5 poules et 5 chevaux. Nous sommes interessés par les techniques de constructions traditionnelles (bois, adobe) et également la permaculture.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This experience will allow participants to discover a new environment in the heart of the desert and facing the sea. daily interactions with locals will help you improve your spanish and discover the real mexican ranch culture.

    Cette expérience permettra aux participants de découvrir un environnement atypique en pleine nature et face a la mer. L´interaction quotidienne avec les locaux vous fera découvrir la culture des ranchs mexicains et améliorer votre espagnol.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people motivated, in love with nature with the will to participate in the development of a sustainable project. We are focusing on construction right now.. We also wish to learn more and put to practice our knowledge of permaculture in a small area of our land. Some help to take care of the horses (feed, wash..etc) is also welcome as well as some help at our neigbour´s ranch (chicken, goats, pigs...) We are also interested in receiving people involved in renewable energies.
    At the moment we are really in need of a babysitter to take care of our adorable 9 month old Lucy a few hours everyday (we are always close by but need to be concentrated while on the computer)
    We also need someone who likes cooking.
    In summer, we sometimes have to adapt our working hours because of the heat of the day.

    Nous recherchons des personnes motivées, amoureuses de la nature et avec l´envie de participer à la realisation d´un projet durable. Nous souhaiterions construire un ou deux bungalows rustiques sur pilotis ainsi qu´une aire commune avec palapa et une tour d´observation de la faune. Nous souhaiterions également en apprendre plus et mettre en pratique nos connaissances de la permaculture sur une petite parcelle du terrain.
    une aide pour s´occuper des chevaux (nourrir, doucher...etc) et aussi aider dans le ranch de notre voisin (poules, chevres, cochons...)
    En ce moment nous sommes surtout à la recherche d´une babysitter pour s´occuper de notre adorable petite Lucy, 7 mois. Nous avons aussi besoin de quelqu´un qui aime cuisiner.
    Nous aimerions aussi recevoir des personnes ayant des connaissances dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables.
    En été nous devons parfois adapter nos horaires de travail à cause de la chaleur la journée.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english / spanish / french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping car (1 a 2 personnes)
    Motorhome (1 to 2 people)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a wild, desert environment and we live with the fauna that lives here, this includes, rattlesnakes, black widows, scorpions, tarantulas...etc. They do not represent a real danger but in summertime it is important to be aware that they are around and be cautious.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week













Host ref number: 827728937683