Help in my hostel and learn about the stars and precolombino culture in Illapel, Choapa region, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/04/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Eric, also known as Sherpa, owner of this beautiful place that is my hostel. I build everything on my own and have been running this place for five years now. I also provide tours in the región like hiking, horse riding, mountain exploring or even star gazing.
    The hostel is located in Illapel, capital of the Choapa región. It has eight rooms, shared bathroom, shared kitchen and a very welcoming patio.

    I'm currently building new rooms on the first floor. So if you have any building experience, know anything about electricity and plumbing or if you just like painting, I'll be very happy to work with you. I am also more than welcoming artistic people in order to help me to design the place and give it a special touch. I am very found of recycling objects and working with natural stones of the region.

    I would also need workawayers to help me with the general maintenance of the hostel and welcoming our guests. You will support me during the trekking tours and sightseeing of archaeological sites. I am looking for someones with good english and spanish skills in order to help me exchange with tourists.

    As you may know there will be a total eclipse of the sun beginning of July. The Choapa region is where you will be able to see it the best. I am organizing an eclipse expedition (June 30th-July 3rd) where we will build a dome in the mountain and bring telescops. You will be able to learn more about astronomy and beliefs of the pre colombian natives. You will also enjoy the beautiful valleys of this region and its amazing nights full of stars. This is gonna be a very busy period for me so you will help me both for running the hostel and organizing this tour.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you will learn spanish but also proper chilean slang (catcheye ?). You can also use one of my bike to explore around town or even go to the Chinchilla reserve with its many hiking trails. I love watching stars, so why not take the telescopes and have a look at this billions of beauties ?

  • Help

    Help

    Help wanted all year long for general maintenance of the place like building, painting, receving our guests.
    I can welcome two workawayers during the year.
    During the eclipse time I would need more help (up to 4 people) running the hostel, but also with our foreigner guests. If you speak english or German as well as spanish your help would be much appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared room of máximum 4 people. Possibility to pitch up to 4 tents in the patio (if you prefer camping).

    Shared bathroom and kitchen with the guests of the hostel.

    I will provide the breakfat as well as food so that you can cook your meals (lunch and dinner).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 827149589814