Help us to transform our grandparents house into a lovely and eco friendly hostel in Bacalar, Quintana Roo, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 87 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/01/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello dear workaway guest. I’m Maria. I live in Bacalar. Me and my family have a project here. We manage the old grandparent house as a space for hosting people.

    If you like cleaning and building text us for more details! We have space only for one person at time.

    The last years we've been working to create a Bacalar’s microcosmos at our place. So come on, join us!
    Our place is so quiet and in less than 5 minutes by walk you will be at the lagoon.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My twin sister and I are working on this project to transform our grandparents house in Bacalar into a lovely and eco friendly hostel. We can share with you the Mexican culture (as typical words in Spanish, Mexican recipes and history about Bacalar and Mexico).
    The location of the property is great. Very close to the lagoon (less than 5 min by walk and we have a lovely view to the lagoon from the roof).

  • Help

    Help

    Dear workaway host,

    We’re looking for creative people, who like to work! You’ll find a list below. If you have real experience and want to join us send me a message. Make sure to add your idea about what do you really can help to the project in your message request. Right now (February and March, we need ONE person for cleaning the rooms and laundry (we have our own procedures and now we’ve been using non-eco friendly products. If you have some recipes for ecofriendly products please share with us but be sure that everything looks clean)

    - A constructor/carpenter! (We want to build bunk beds for the rooms, stairs and wood roads in the garden. It´s important to have on mind that we are in Mexico and is not even close to a development country, so we do not have so many tools and everything could be a challlenge find the way to build)

    We really care about the cleanest of the house, that is why we are looking for someone who is well organised and can help us keeping the house as clean as possible.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a single bed inside of the main house. we are working on build a room for the volunteers but it the mean time you can sleep in the living room. You can have Access to the kitchen (it can be used only for volunteers, my sister and me). You will Share the bathroom and the house with my sister, my little nephew and me

    We’re not vegetarian nor vegan. If you are, please respect the beliefs of other, and bring your own dishes if you think that is necessary.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You’re gonna love Bacalar

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 825292861614