Looking for musicians to create our folk music in Luwu, Indonesia



Favourited 65 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    My name is Misba, 32 years old, i'm youtuber, photographer, and videomaker. I have one brother and one sister, my brother live in Jakarta and my sister live in Makassar, they are working there. And I live with my mom in Belopa, Luwu, South Sulawesi. In this project i have a few friend and local musician to help me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Luwu is one of regency in South Sulawesi and Belopa is capital of Luwu. We have riches history, culture and nature (mountain, waterfall, sea) and a lot of kind of traditional food.

    I'm a Photographer, so i can take a lot of good picture for volunteers, especially for our traditional dress. but the volunteers have to pay to wearing traditional dress because i rent in wedding organizer, don't worry because it's cheap.

    I'm a Videomaker and Youtuber,, so i can make and upload the video from our music project and other fun daily activity (football and futsal playing, running, hiking, swimming, cooking, eating, playing, video reaction, etc) to Youtube and the volunteers can be share to any other families and friends.

    In Luwu we have a book about our mhytologi called Sureq Galigo. is the longest mhytologi on the world. more than Mahabrata and Ramayana from India. I can explain to you the simple story because now only available in Bahasa Indonesia and Ancient Buginese language.

    Luwu is 4 hours from Toraja. Is the the second most beautiful place in Indonesia after Bali because the have a lot of unique nature and culture (especially for funeral). And very different culture with us, because we are Moslem's here in Luwu and they are Christian and local religion called "Aluk To Dolo".

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need volunteers for helping us to make our folk song or folk music from other country. We need volunteers who play instrument, especially for unique instrument from their country. I have small recording studio in my home.

    To reach us, you can take a flight to Sultan Hasanuddin Airport (Makassar). From Makassar Airport you have to take a bus ( Daya bus station ) to Belopa, then the bus will drop you off in Belopa. It takes 6-8 hours to Belopa, then in Belopa we will pick you up to our simple house.

    Or you take a flight from Sultan Hasanuddin Airport (Makassar) to I La galigo AIrport (Bua) and then we will pick you up by car to Belopa (our town).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    English, Spanish, French, Italian

  • Accommodation


    There are one room, inside of our house with a mattress, pillows, and sheets of each room. The washroom is really the local style (where you take a small scoop dipped into a large tub or container of cold water and pour the water over yourself), and squat the toilet. And i have WiFi signal here in my house.

    The home stay is a simple room but is very comfortable for volunteers. Volunteers are responsible for their own food, there is a supermarket nearby and a traditional market. We can show volunteers around and give tips about the best traditional Indonesian food, we can also cook together sharing recipes and different traditional food.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 823732385518