Join us at our Off-grid home 40 minutes north of Kingston in Ontario, Canada

  • Favourited 69 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 6 (plus dog) looking for some help on a variety of projects and general help around the house.
    We have recently built our off-grid house on a clifftop in the rural and beautiful setting of South Frontenac. The property is located about 40 minutes north of Kingston, 2 1/2 hours from Toronto, 3 hours from Montreal and 7 hours from New York City. Nestled in the beautiful “land of lakes” region of Ontario, travellers would have access to a plethora of lakes and outdoor adventure activities such as canoeing, hiking, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, cycling and camping.
    Tristan is an artist and designer and is currently doing a project restoring the stained glass windows from the Parliament buildings in Ottawa. He works from his off-grid studio located on the property with a team of other glaziers. Lia works in the nearby village of Sydenham at the public library and also manages the family's rental properties. We
    have 4 year old twin boys and two young teenage girls and our tasks around our house and property AND our response rate has taken a hit. We have been inactive and weren't seeing our messages for awhile, but we are back at it now and actively looking for someone! 1-2 week duration of stay is great for us.

    Our house is a work in progress with many ongoing/upcoming projects to complete and we are finding ourselves so busy that our house projects are getting left behind. We are looking for help on some general housekeeping, building projects, landscaping and general maintenance on and around our property. We are flexible with schedules and are open to individuals' interests and strengths.
    Our place is spacious and welcoming with some amazing views. We have private bedrooms for travellers, as well as over 300 acres for camping and exploring.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are tons of opportunities for learning in different areas including off-grid living and sustainability, renovations and landscaping. We have a diverse community of friends and family, and travellers will be welcomed and included (if they wish!) in any gatherings etc.

    Kingston and the surrounding area has a rich history and a vibrant downtown full of restaurants, live music, festivals and other things to do. Whenever possible we will provide opportunities for travellers to experience this as well.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a multitude of upcoming and ongoing projects that we could really use help with! General landscaping, gardening and other outdoor work. Housework and cleaning, work on the house and property, potentially some babysitting, cooking family meals.

    We are open to all skill levels and ideas.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom on the main floor of our house. Shared main floor bathroom. Access to kitchen, washing machine etc. There is also over 300 acres of land suitable for camping (tent, and screened-in dining tent provided if required) if preferred.
    We will always include the workawayer in any meals prepared, and the cupboards are always open to help yourself if you're hungry/we are away at meal time! We often have family meals, where Workawayers will always be welcomed (though not obligated).
    We are also open to cooking being part of the day's work if so inclined.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a rural setting and travellers staying here should be prepared as such. There are often rides to and from the city of Kingston but individuals staying with us would be best suited if looking to spend time in nature and the country. We would be looking for approximately 5 hours per day/5 days per week of work, but we would be open to schedule accommodation and flexibility.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good and reliable internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large property and could accommodate campers easily.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 823177119164

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback