Help Me to Make My Home & Garden More Environmentally Sustainable in Port Elgin

Country

Canada

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/03/2021

 
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a house located on the mouth of a tidal river and I work for a charity located a mile away. I love gardening and am trying to make my home and property more sustainable. I have a canoe and a kayak for people to use and there is swimming in the river during the summer. I'm vegetarian, am passionate about the environment and social justice, and have a dog as a pet. I love being outdoors year round and enjoying traveling the world and meeting people in hostels.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Charity Work

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help in my garden creating a usable compost pile, draining excess water, and adding additional garden space for vegetables, fruit trees and edible nut trees. I would also like to have help in building a solar food dehydrator, fixing a shed, doing some painting inside and out, and building a carport. If someone is interested we would be pleased to have them volunteer at my workplace as there are many work opportunities there.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a double bed in a spare room, a hammock in the living room and a fold out couch in the living room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Enjoy a beautiful secluded location on the mouth of a tidal river. The house is within the village limits (population under 500) but there are no close neighbours. There is a short trail that goes through the property and it's less than 1 mile to walk to the centre of the village. I will not cook meat or allow meat to be cooked in my house. However I will purchase a small bar-b-que if someone feels they want to eat meat. I live in an environmentally conscious manner so keep my power consumption to a minimum.

    My home is in New Brunswick but is 15 minutes away from Nova Scotia and 20 minutes away from the bridge to Prince Edward Island. It's a great central location to see the three Maritime provinces and I'd be happy to do some exploring with anyone who would like to come and work with me.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day


Host ref number: 822466194711