Help me with practical tasks around the garden and house in central England.


United Kingdom

Favourited 286 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I am an ex-English language teacher (RSA DELTA qualified) who now works supporting business leaders from large UK companies with creative facilitation, storytelling and engagement planning. I spend a lot of time at home in between work sessions, looking after my 12 year old daughter and her friends when they visit, building up my health and wellbeing, volunteering with local community groups and being in my lovely garden.

    I really enjoy the times work-away guests come here, and like to keep my language teaching 'live' as we live and work together. How much we focus on this really depends on how motivated you are to learn, but there really is nothing like immersion in a native language environment to gain more confidence speaking and listening and extend your language range. I particularly enjoy helping with pronunciation and functional language development, but I'm pretty good on grammar etc too. We are quite sociable and enjoy spending time with friends, playing games together - we like to have fun.

    I live in a lovely village in the middle of Charnwood Forest, close to Loughborough and Leicester. My house and garden are comfortable and colourful - we have a sleep-out in the garden with its own small kitchen (bathroom is in the house so it's a walk through the garden) - generally we eat together but you can have a bit of independence if you like to. There's a spare bike here and a bus route to Loughborough and Leicester. We will include you in as much of our activities as we can and help you make contacts in the local community to meet more people if possible.

    I play music (violin and sing a bit) mostly with friends in pub sessions. I enjoy spending time outdoors and growing vegetables and now flowers too! Work hours are flexible - I prefer people who have enough experience to self-motivate and self-manage to an extent, and this usually works really well. I'm happy to show you how to do tasks you've not tackled before. The work is mostly either in the garden or doing DIY/painting and decorating.

    Our home is generally a quiet and peaceful place as alongside being with friends I also love stillness and tranquility - if that balance works for you please do get in touch....

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have a lot of experience supporting people in exploring a new language and culture, and will help you find as many creative ways as possible to connect with the local community here if you want to. I can help you improve your English through informal feedback during the day and more focussed study time during 'down time' if you are motivated to do this and happy to ask for help.

  • Help


    I am very happy to use whatever skills people have to offer - I enjoy developing spaces and like to work alongside others when I'm not at work myself. I particularly value people with practical skills, and a positive, friendly approach to life.

    Projects include:
    planting and growing vegetables, flowers and shrubs
    weeding and clearing ground
    painting and decorating
    woodworking maintenance/building if you have these skills
    batch cooking if you have these skills

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little bit of French

  • Accommodation


    Accomodation is in a sleepout in the garden... this is on mains power and water, and very comfortable. In colder weather there may be a bedroom in the house available. My house has a large kitchen and living room with a wood stove, and has been decorated recently - it's comfortable and well looked after, a cosy space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have two cats so anyone with cat allergies won't be suitable. Occasionally the work can be independent / unsupervised so experience and skills to suit this would be great.

    We live in Charnwood Forest, a beautiful area in the East Midlands. The house is surrounded by an extensive network of country parks and woodland so is great if you like walking, running or cycling.

    There is a bus service to the nearest town (Loughborough) and city (Leicester), but this doesn't run in the evenings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day average, flexible to suit you so you can have days out etc and work more on other days if you wish.

Host ref number: 821865216616