Help with some building and gardening in beautiful Faja Grande, Flores Island, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey everyone and thank you for looking at our page.

    My name is Jennifer and I'm originally from the UK and my partner is Ruben, a Portuguese national from Setubal. Ruben moved to Flores Island 3 years ago to build his own home and work the land to become self-sufficient.

    We now have our first child on the way and we really would like help around the garden and also, maintenance is welcome for our pathway to the land!

    Ruben is currently building a small out building 2x4m for the bathroom so you could have the opportunity to learn how the locals build the traditional stone walls. These walls are protected in the Azores so we would like to keep our projects as traditional as possible.

    We have a dog called Tipi, two cats and 6 chickens. We are both very relaxed and enjoy a quiet life, we are also well-travelled and enjoy mixing with different cultures and making new friends.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can share knowledge about gardening and permaculture design and show the beginnings of an auto-sustainable farm. While also learning about traditional building techniques. Plus giving you the opportunity to experience living in one of the most isolated islands in Europe (well its actually on the American plate).

    You will have the opportunity to learn what it's like to live off-grid on a small isolated island. There are lots of small eco-projects scattered around the island so you will be able to meet others who have taken on the journey to living more sustainably, managing the land without the use of chemicals.

    The local community is very connected with farming and the ocean so there will be plenty of opportunities to learn more about the history of the island.

    This place is really beautiful to explore on foot so if you enjoy hiking there are many trails you can explore. This will give you the opportunity to see much of the biodiversity here and a chance to see flora which can only be found on these islands.

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome help to build our bathroom, which is going to be constructed with the traditional style stone walls and a wooden green roof. But we would mostly welcome help around the garden. Where Ruben can teach you about permaculture design. We also plan to improve the pathway up to the land. We really would like someone who is fit and able and interested in learning about permaculture. We're looking for volunteers to stay a minimum of two weeks. And we only ask 15 hours of work per week so you will have plenty of free time to explore the island.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    And can provide a 5m Tipi Tent with a comfortable mattress and the best views in Faja Grande. Warning this will be wild camping! you will only have access to running water and we have now set up the solar system so you can charge phones/laptops. The campsite in the village has warm showers you can use for free.

    You are welcome to the food from the garden and to use the cooking facilities in our home.

    Sorry, we do not have wifi. But there are plenty of places in town that you can use.

    As we only expect 15 hours of help per week we do not offer meals, but you will be able to use the kitchen and to enjoy the food from the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Your time off is your own, we do not expect you to stick around the land if you don't wish to once the work is done for the day. Although we will always enjoy sharing mealtimes with you, that will be your choice. The summer is the perfect time to enjoy the sea, and a lot of amazing treks to walk around the Island. You can also visit the waterfalls and lakes that are within walking distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Free parking in town

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours per week (no meals provided)

Host ref number: 821675153896