Beautiful remote nature in Portugal, Alentejo:☀️garden, woodwork, construction, etc.

Country

Portugal

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young-hearted couple in the late 50ties from Switzerland and Germany with two adopted dogs, a little, sweet senior and a two years‘ old new shy female, who had been kept on a short chain and now appreciates freedom and a safe, loving home. We are installing ourselves in our off-grid house/property for a permanent stay with at least the idea of self sustainability. You are warmly welcome if you‘re also honest-hearted and friendly, love and respect nature, like to share your possible skills or else learn some, like to work hard, you are happy to do any jobs that need to be done as long as you know or are taught how to do them, enjoy variety of tasks, don’t mind to get dirty at work but you’re generally a clean person, outside but also inside your heart and mind. We enjoy the quiet and absolutely remote countryside and go for little walks with our dogs, occasionally go cycling or go to the beach, do lots of work outside in the field and garden, love healthy and fresh food and we usually like quiet evenings. Are you also open-minded for new ideas and activities and appreciate cultural exchanges? There are lots of possible projects at our place we can do in team-work or partly individually.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Welcome at our home and enjoy nature and calm area in a remote place in Alentejo (just north of Algarve), Portugal, surrounded by trees, bushes, flowers, January to June picking oranges and of course eating ;-) them, lemons, learn about some herbs for cooking and tea, relax in the countryside and view to sea (10km areal distance).

    Learn about nature and garden and/or teach us :-) !, learn about local trees and fruits and veggies,
    learn about solar system,
    cooking together, baking Swiss cake, maybe making a Portuguese dish,
    lots of happy gardening,
    depending on the season you can enjoy organic veggies and salad from our own garden, meet local Portuguese farmers where we buy eggs and our fresh milk, local butcher who gets meat from the area (if you like all that).

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on your skills there are various possible projects: there’s always lots of different garden work, currently it would be much appreciated if you have at least a little experience with building, various woodwork, we’d like to build a dry toilet and a shower next to the accommodation and tool container, build an outside sink with a pallets frame, maybe you‘d like to build pallet furniture, do little renovation jobs, painting. Later, we need to do some building such as plastering and painting walls, possibly making a wall with natural stones from property.
    We also appreciate if you like to cook and we can also bake together. We also have jobs such as sewing curtains etc.
    Sometimes we also need help cleaning the house,
    You enjoy working outside and partly inside as well, please bring along good working clothes and also good shoes for the countryside and garden and a hat and any necessary sun protection.
    It’s important that you love dogs, too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Schwytzerdütsch, French (only one of us), basic Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Remote, clean house, our home is your home. We have experienced that a little extra privacy is appreciated on both sides and we have therefore created a nice little room space in the accommodation container. The sun is shining in there beautifullly in the evenings under the cork tree. You have direct access to a separate little guest bathroom in the house. Our house is partly traditional and modern, glazed winter garden, which you can enjoy too. You may also like to chill out on the roof terrace and a beautiful view to the sea (within 10 km areal distance).

    Important:
    Our home is off-grid, out in the wonderful countryside, it’s quiet out here, we ‚only’ have solar system for electricity and our own well for water, which means you need to be open for a chance to appreciate electricity and water resources with moderate use and conscious approach and respect for our wonderful nature.

    There is absolutely no public transport to or from here, but we pick you up, it’s 20 minutes drive to the next town and bus stop, 30 minutes drive to the beach. You can borrow our bikes or we can give you a lift to a nearby place a couple of times a week.

    We have mostly healthy food, we are growing food in our garden but partly also have to buy fresh food in the shops. We love vegies, salad, fruit, sometimes barbecue etc. and occasionally wine. We like local meat and fish but we also often cook vegetarian meals. Therefore, vegetarians are welcome too :-)

    We usually cook for lunch between 2-3 pm and enjoy this with our workawayers, whereas breakfast, dinner and in-between snacks you can just help yourself with fresh food, which is always available.

    We prefer non-smokers and normally enjoy quiet evenings and sometimes early nights.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We pick you up from the next town, São Teotónio, coaches commute either from Lisbon airport southwards within 3 hours to S Teotónio or else from Lagos to S Teotónio within about 1 hour.

    If you wish, we can take you to a place you may like nearby (beach, town, etc.) a couple of times a week or else further south to the Algarve when we can combine it with our plans because we do live in a remote place. Workawayers who wanted to see more of the country and didn’t have own transportation decided to borrow our mountain bikes a couple of times a week and/or to work longer hours and take 3 days off at the weekends to travel to places and we gave them a lift to the next bus stop on S Teotónio.

    You may also enjoy barbecue/grilling with either meat or veggies. We also have a piano. There’s lots of space outside with tables, deckchairs, etc. You may go cycling with us and you can borrow one of our bikes, you can go on short or long walks or a run, in the evening enjoy the sunset outside, maybe on top of the roof terrace with view to the sea, read a book, with a cup of tea with herbs from the garden or a glass of Portuguese wine.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 817626137241