Help me with planting trees and more in East Sussex, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 99 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    65.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ciao,

    I started my work away adventure almost a year and half ago now where first went to Thailand and spent a week on a permaculture farm there, then the romance began. I then spent 6 months on 1 acre of land in Kerala where we were growing a self sustainable home and my favourite part, a food forest. Most recently I have been working in Sicily helping out with another young food forest. During this time I have been studying the soil the trees and so on. Recently I have been studying more the ideas for a food forest in UK as I have a home here and some land with no trees!!
    I going to spend some of February in Wales to help out with another planting scheme and learn some about planting and trees in Britain, then I plan to get started with plating at my house and will need some extra hands. This winter we will be planting another 3/400 trees all around the local land as well as making a few veg beds and a plan to integrate ducks and pigs to the farm soon.
    We like to work hard here in winter when lamenting generally doing 5 hours a day at least but with lots of cups of tea and good food.
    Volunteers will have their own room in the house.
    pretty chilled really be in touch and we can chat more sometimes there is family here so will be more difficult to have people other times there is nobody and I have a free house.
    I will be very nice for me to have some friends around the house as well as some helpful hands and any tips and knowledge towards the project will be highly appreciated.
    We are in East Sussex its very easy to get to from London Victoria by Train to Plumpton station, and we are a half an hour drive from Brighton.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak English as a Native and know speak Italian with fluency. Here In Sussex my family is relatively traditional and we have my cousins and grandmother who live near by and are more proper countryside English than us hah.
    I hope you can learn some about plating trees and looking after soil from me as much as I hope to be able to learn and take ideas from volunteers.

  • Help

    Help

    So the help will mainly be planting trees and bushes, digging holes, digging Swales, collecting organic matter and moving around organic matter.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a room in the house heating and private bathroom shared kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As I said we are near Brighton and near enough London if you like the city life and so on otherwise the countryside around here is amazing for walks along the green hills or along the cliffs on the coast. Although it is cold!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 816687569858