Small organic family farm located on the lush Hamakua Coast of The Big Island, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 221 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please Read our Profile before sending a request to work here -

    Located on the lush Hamakua Coast of The Big Island. We have 14 acres of farmland in transformation from pasture for the most part to an organic farm under story cacao/coffee, over story avocado, breadfruit, jackfruit. We currently grow citrus, bananas, white pineapple, squash, pumpkin, tree tomato, papaya, and a seasonal vegetable garden. Our property is flanked by a huge gulch with native plants and huge waterfall with swimming area. Free range chickens, dogs, a horse, a pair of dwarf Nigerian goats and two baby goats that we are bottle feeding and 5 children ages 6 months, 4 years, 5, 6 and 6. We have a main house and that is currently full of kids. We do have an option to sleep inside or to tent on the lanai. We are open to people who want to tent and camp but we would really prefer someone who has some skill and want to help build a small pallet house. We would work with you to make it comfortable. We will provide propane and an insta-heat shower and a toilet. We would like to have dinners together as a large family – this is the part that is really good for my kids. I would like to share cooking duty if that works. We are vegetarians and would also enjoy being vegan. We are 30 miles from North of Hilo. There is bus service (not sure of the schedule). We do go into town several times a week. We are a vegetarian household. Family with a child is possible. (We’d need to talk about it) We are currently clearing and planting the next paddock of our farm. If you think that you are a good fit and would like to help us and be a part of our ohana please respond and let us know – –

    We do not kill or eat animals. We have rescued many animals -

    Our baby goats need hoofs trimmings every couple of weeks or at least once a month. They are cut like a finger nail and do not bleed

    Animals need to be fed

    We have bees -
    We are working on building 50 top bar hives.

    We are clearing and fencing a 330 ft x 200 ft area - planting more white pineapples
    Plant pineapples

    We are organic- so fertile and weeding are a regular part of the week.
    No one wants to weed all day - every day so I would say 20% of the work is weeding
    Maybe 5% fertilization - 20% animals
    And about 50% new projects

    We are working on getting a privacy screen between us and the neighbors -
    Neighbors did about a third - a lot of planting and checking on new trees

    We are planting about 2000 new pineapples this year. We weed mat - once a week check to make sure plants are doing well.

    We are planting about 120 new coconut palm trees around the property- and then planting the state tree around our property and planting in the gulch.
    We have to move our hoop house and put new plastic and build cap ends to keep bugs out. We need to fence the bottom portion of our property. (Fencing is easier with three people)

    We have some raised beds and would appreciate help getting them functional
    Maybe new ideas or just trying some ideas from the internet

    Thank you for your interest in our farm and family – our best wishes in your search –

    Aloha –

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the Hamakua coast. We are a rural start up farm. You will earn about farming and the difficulties of producing good organic food. We are adding animals - not for food. We have lawn mower goats and we are getting two top bar hives of bees tomorrow.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Work schedule is flexible- I would prefer a work log or a work journal

    Some jobs cannot be done in the rain and sometimes it rains a lot - so flexibility is necessary

    If you schedule and excursion I will respect your schedule - communication is key

    We are looking for someone who honestly wants to join our family for a while -

    I will teach you what I know and we will learn new things together

    3 Weeks, 1 Month, 2-3 Months, Long Term


    4 visitors maximum


    Garden, Homestead, Permaculture, Vegetables, Orchard, Vegan Friendly
    Diet

    Vegan friendly, Vegetarian friendly
    Lodging

    Bedroom in house, Tent camping, RV/Camper parking


    Children Friendly

    Spanish spoker here (some)

    We are looking for help on our farm.
    We are a small organic startup farm.
    We need help expanding our crops and caring for the farm that is already planted.

    Plant pineapple slips - pineapples can take about 3 years to produce fruit. We need help planting pineapple plants. We put down weed mat and cut a hole for each plant and fertilize with some green sand. After they are planted they need to be fertilized.

    Fertilizing dragon fruit and spaying dragon fruit plants with copper to prevent and treat fungus infections

    Planting approximately 120 coconuts around the perimeter of the property

    Building bee hives (if you know wood working) if not that doesn’t have to be done by worker

    Building new chicken coops and relocating chickens to various areas of the property

    Planting new trees -

    Helping to install new wire fence. This will keep the pigs out of the new farm areas and keep the goats in.

    Clearing bananas and moving banana plants

    Building a wind block at the fence line- this would consist of moving banana corms - planting pigeon peas and papay - maybe if possible we would also plant some Kalo

    We have a small grow cart and many seeds to germinate. We have experienced difficulties here with germination and we would welcome help and advice

    There are a lot of little and large jobs here. Some people want to “own” a project and focus on that for their stay and others want to do multiple different projects. We can work out what is best and do our best to help you have a productive and educational stay at our farm.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a main house and that is currently full of kids. We do have an option to sleep inside or to tent on the lanai. We are open to people who want to tent and camp but we would really prefer someone who has some skill and want o help build a small pallet house. We would work with you to make it comfortable. We will provide propane and an insta-heat shower and a toilet. We would like to have dinners together as a large family –

    We have had people sleep in my daughter’s bedroom (she clears out) and on the lanai in a tent (with air mattress)

    We provide food (make your own meals) breakfast and lunch. And we make dinner and eat as a “family” in the evening. Making food is a shared responsibility and we can discuss this - it is one of the reasons that we want to host

    We have laundry facilities at our home. We will allow visitors to use them and provide soap. We are off grid and use solar and propane so we will have to discuss the laundry guildlines when you arrive

    We provide work boots and gloves and tools - if you have your own (especially gloves) please feel free to bring them

    We do not provide a vehicle but we will invite you to accompany us into town for shopping and on our excursions out to do and see.

    Dan has been a very gracious host and has taken visitors to many of our sites and markets

    We are not near a beach

    We are not near any place for surfing

    We are the east side of Hawaii - we are wet

    Please map Ninole Hawaii and see if this is where you want to be

    We have an indoor bedroom- that we can give to a worker and has a shared bathroom with shower (hot/cold) water

    We have a lanai off the living room - this is like a deck with a roof . We put tarps up as walls and we have a tent and bedding and an inflatable matress. Toilet is still inside.
    We do not want camping - we do not like our property to be used as a toilet

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can read - meditate - take walks and hike in the gulch- star gaze (some of the best in the world) -

    Local bus does exist - the schedule is irratic, slow and not really dependable.
    Look up Hele bus of Hilo. We are half way between Hilo and Honokaa

    This is Not the place if you are looking for a city buzz, nightlife, coffee culture

    We love the serenity of the farm
    I love the sunrise and sunsets and the joy of being disconnected from the “news”

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 815647567782