Relaxed stay in pretty Somerset village (in UK)

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 165 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    167

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is an ideal workaway experience for someone who likes dog walks as well as playing sport, especially tennis and football, as we have both across the road from our house.

    We are a family of 3, Rachel and Rob in our 40's, our son Theodore age 8, plus Nala and Alfie our lively Labrador dogs.

    We’d also be interested in meeting people who enjoy playing board games and table football with our son.

    We live in a pretty Somerset village called Mells, near to Frome.
    We have a pub, village. shop and two cafes, all surrounded by beautiful countryside so an enjoyment of dog walking and rural life is an important feature in staying with us.

    It's a great location as you can enjoy life in the country and still catch a bus to Frome and enjoy the buzz of this progressive town which has recently been voted the coolest place to be in the south west U.K. by the Guardian magazine.
    Equally there are regular trains and buses going from Frome to Bristol, Bath, london and the seaside.

    We’ve both enjoyed travelling and living in different countries so like meeting other travellers and sharing stories about the places that we have visited and the different cultures and experiences. We really appreciate having different people around to help us various projects going on in our home and garden, that we need a hand with. It would also be great if you like dogs, as we have 2 beautiful labradors who enjoy country walks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The surrounding area is rich with culture and locally in the village we have many pretty walks and a off road bike path to Frome. We have bikes that you can borrow.
    Frome has a fantastic independent market once a month and lots of cafes and music events.
    We also travel to different areas of Uk for various projects and invite our visitors to join us for sightseeing when ever possible.

  • Help

    Help

    We would be grateful for some extra help around our house and garden with general tidying and cleaning and sharing cooking.

    Some dog care, especially walks around the local area.


    We also welcome people who enjoy playing sports, as our son lives every sport and we have a big playing field in front of our house and a tennis court.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a private bedroom, with heating, electric and WiFi and share our bathroom and house with our family.
    We can welcome 2 guests at the same time, Either a couple or friends would be great.
    We also provide all the food you’ll need, if we are away especially and invite you to cook your own meals most days but often prepare meals together in the evenings for you when we can.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bikes and there are many lovely paths and quiet roads a for cycling.
    Hourly bus from Mells village to Frome, where there is a monthly farmers/artisan market, banks, shops, cafes, cinema and train station.
    We are interested in our health and wellbeing so we put an emphasis on eating healthy food and reducing stress as much as possible.
    Rachel is training to be a yoga teacher and is holistic therapist and Robert is a martial arts teacher so we both enjoy people who have similar interests and backgrounds.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 814977222977