Help with trees and gardening in Scotland, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 278 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We have a farm that has been converted mostly into trees ages 10 - 20 years old that need maintenance. We also try to develop the flora in the woods by planting wild flowers and useful forest edible plants.

    Help with gardening needed. Lots of work in the trees - pruning, thinning, chopping. We also grow mushrooms on logs. You need to be interested in nature to come here. My son, who studied physics in Leipzig, is home, he reads a lot and is musical, and my daughter lives just down the road at Leith Hall where she works but she also helps on the farm and grows vegetables.

    I only have a temporary house as I have sold the farmhouse a few years ago and still haven't built another so accomodation for helpers is either in a caravan or tent. Help needed taking out trees from the woods that have been cut down and planting young trees. You need to work 25 hours a week (and help at mealtimes) but when you work is flexible (for example you are welcome to go for a weekend to Inverness ).

    I prefer helpers who have initiative to see what needs to be done and who are flexible and can organise themselves.

    We are 5 minutes from the Insch train station, 35 minutes from Aberdeen, and you can walk to the village in 5 minutes where there are shops and a pub.

    We eat mostly vegetarian food and I tend to prepare food from scratch and like the idea of a simple sustainable life. The only meat is the small amount of roe deer that we sometimes have to cull to protect the trees but we don't eat meat very often.

    I am mainly interested in traveling, Forestry, making bread and cooking and the associations between trees and mushrooms. I also studied TEFL and am happy to help with English language learning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Forestry, gardening, English, cooking, using wild foods, mushrooms. Piano at weekends if someone can play.

  • Help


    Help in the trees and early summer to divide daffodil bulbs. In June planing container grown trees. Pruning and clearing brashed branches of spruce trees. I have a small tree nursery so some replanting of trees and fencing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have sold the house so it is tenting now but we have nice tents and a caravan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are walking distance from the train station (Aberdeen 35 minutes) and a village that has shops and a pub and even a golf course! Lovely hills nearby (Bennahie) and nice walks on the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 814179329166