Cook and Odd Jobs on a slice of wildlife paradise - 45mins from Melbourne CBD, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/05/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    After looking after an absolutely divine young couple for a day whilst our friends were away, we thought we would try and host some other travellers of our own!
    We live on 8.5acres, adjoining 200 acres of Crown Land, 5mins from the major shopping centres and the largest growth corridor in Australia. The house is newly renovated, 3 bedroom, super modern, open plan style. We have anywhere between 3-7 riding horses (not really the quiet trail riding types), Jimmy Cricket - the Whippet (Dog) and plenty of wild life incl Wombats, Kookaburras and Kangaroos.
    We are 30-40yo married couple (4 years) with a highly independent 3yo. We are not far from lovely sanctuary parks, train stations and general public transport.
    My husband is a Veterinarian and I run a few businesses from home, a little entrepreneurial!. Our interests are photography, boats, travel, hiking, horses and new ventures. We both work hard and live fairly relaxed at home, nothing is high maintenance though always bits and pieces to do.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We aren't after any slaves! We would just like to help some young travellers enjoy their stay in Australia. Plus an extra pair of hands if and when available would be much appreciated.
    Gardening could involve - whipper snipper the grass, watering plants, pruning maybe even planting.
    Babysitting - would be in very short spurts i.e. 30mins whilst I ride a horse.
    Help in the house - maybe the odd vacuum?
    Animal care - taking rugs on/off horses (generally 2 horses), helping with feeding. out

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A moderate bedroom with Queen size bed, your own toilet, with large shared bathroom. We have a massive kitchen and large stone top benches, so knock yourself out if you like to cook! There is internet, computers, a large study, heating/cooling.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are cafes, largest shopping centres in Australia i.e. Chadstone and Fountain Gate, Nationals Parks and Wildlife, amazing scenery, horses and we have a wealth of knowledge of what else to see whilst you are in Australia.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-4hrs

The Puffing Billy Railway is a 2 ft 6 in narrow gauge heritage railway in the Dandenong Ranges near Melbourne, Australia.
Your journey to relaxation starts here. Peninsula Hot Springs is the first natural hot springs and day spa centre in Victoria, just 90 minutes from Melbourne. Natural thermal mineral waters flow into the pools and private baths at this award-winning coastal oasis, providing the idyllic setting for relaxation and rejuvenation. Two bathing facilities provide an experience for everyone - Mornington Peninsula (1 hour from Pakenham)
Healesville Sanctuary, or the Sir Colin MacKenzie Fauna Park, is a zoo specializing in native Australian animals. It is located at Healesville in rural Victoria, Australia, and has a history of breeding native animals. (1 hour from Pakenham)
Chadstone Shopping Centre is a super regional shopping centre located in the inner south-eastern suburb of Malvern East in the city of Melbourne, Australia and is the biggest shopping centre in Australia. (45mins from Pakenham)
Chilling in the park - Sophie and I
She still likes chocolate, don't we all!
Best friends, you would never believe they are both 17hh (i.e. giant!!)
Conference in Mexico
We can keep the horses IN but we can't keep the child OUT!
Sophies best mate....Jimmy Cricket the Whippet (who does not really enjoy showers)
Those eyes twinkle....
Sophie proud of Mummy bringing home Champion Rider!
Different angle of main bathroom
Bedroom
Kitchen, its super...if you love to cook (I just run out of time!)
Back of our house - oh the trees have grown so much!
Front of our house
Open plan dining/lounge
No more brick - house is now rendered weehoo!
Main bathroom
The lounge BC (before child)
My show horse Aston Martin who won Victoria Horse of the Year 2014
Our family - Penny Sophie and Tim
Host ref number: 813516961929