Slow living at full speed in Engeløya, Northern Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 262 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    If somone is close or already in Norway, we would like some help if you like our profile. Borders are open but there are restrictions on some countries. We are asked to not travel more than needed. The same regulations would be when it comes to foreigners planning to be travelling in Norway.

    We are a family of five living on a sheepfarm in the northern part of Norway. We have two dogs, Tyra and Runa. Our background contains different jobs such as woodenboat building, teaching, social works, carpentry and delivering pizza.... The children 3 boys, are all in primary school. Vivian like working with wool in various ways and joinery. Jan-Erik enjoys his work at the farm, and consider the way of living as his hobby too. We are located seaside on the island Engeløya. We want to produce more of our own food. We are allredy self supported with most of our fish and meat. In the barn there is a complete shop for woodworking. We love to live close to the nature and love to use the surroundings in our dayly living. In the winter we love skiing and hiking when it's not to much snow. During the summer the landscape is perfect for hiking and boat use.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get lots of experiences as part of our family and community. It's as far as possible from a city in rural Norway in a small community. We find it a good reason for a slow lifestyle, at the same time you can choose from a great number of activitys. The wheather also play its part in planning the day about what's possible to do. The scenery is facinating and exotic. Daylight all summer, (day and night) and short days in the winter. We live by Norwegian traditions and language, but are capable of communicating in English or some German.

  • Help

    Help

    Small building projects, maintenance, sometimes just a helping hand. Maybe you manage to feed the sheep in the winter, or work with a chainsaw? Its nice if you can walk our dogs too.
    In May we get the lambs and that take most of our time.
    You need to be normally fit because its a lot of hard labour. You should be quite selfmotivated, and sometimes you can be working alone.

    We expect you to take part in the normal householding, and its nice if you somtime can do some cooking.

    If you want to be able to go places more than around the farm, driving license is recomended, otherwise you get around the island in a couple hours by bike...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room in our house. Meals with the family, access to the whole house when/ if we go away.
    Vegetarian could have a hard time because vegetables are few and expensive if you need variety. Most common are potato,carrot and cabbage...

    We produce and eat meat. Mostly from local fishing, hunting and of course from the sheep.
    We want you to feel as a member of the family during the stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transportation are 2 hours from Bodø with ¨Hurtigbåt¨ speedferry or 4-5 hours by bus. Our farm is remote, 2 km to next neighbour both ways along the road. A mountain on one side and a fjord on the other. Spectacular if you like the kind of scenery. You need to be able to handle sometimes to be completly alone. We have bikes and skies for lending.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have an exellent wifi connection and a broad-band in our house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 813221619421