1 / 3

House sitting, help take care of cats, chickens and plants near Holbæk, Denmark

  • Denmark
  • Favourited 643 times
  • Last activity: 02/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    You can help me to build a LAND centre - that is a Learning, Activities, Network and Demonstration centre for Permaculture. The house and garden need lots of attention and we'll have fun doing it.

    I will be teaching away for some periods of time and therefore I need someone in the house to take care of cats, chickens and plants. Ideally you can stay here from beginning of July until mid September.

    My place is on an island, so the beach is near and there are lovely walks along the coast.

    Summertime offers outdoor activity, festivals and music. I'm next door to a museum that doubles as a venue for festivals.

    I'd love to tell you more about permaculture, wild edibles, clay plastering, rocket stoves, forest gardens, cultivation and about the island I'm on.

    You can go on trips to Copenhagen. It's about 1½ hours drive away. And you should meet my cats, they love hanging out with humans.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Danish culture and permaculture :-)

  • Help

    Help

    The house is from 1870 and there's quite a few things to maintain. I've worked a lot on it the last 8 years and have created a cozy clay-plastered indoor living room and a lovely workshop. This summer I'll be working on improving the workshop and general maintenance of house and garden.

    The garden is based on permaculture principles and have a forest garden, social space, fireplace, lots of greens to eat. Its really a little paradise to me. I have cats and chickens and some plants to water, so if you are staying here you'd be taking care of them.

    I teach permaculture, so if you're lucky you get to help me with a course and hang out while it's on :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are extra bedrooms in the house, so you can have a room to yourself,

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of lovely walks and you might find some of the rare orchids that are growing on the island (don't pick!). The beach is nearby. The island is mostly about finding peace and quiet, listening to birds and being in nature.

    There are a few places that serve food or where you can go for a drink. There are couple of small museums.

    Take the ferry across to Holbæk, a larger town, where you have everything a town offers.

    Copenhagen is easy to reach via the ferry to Holbæk and train to the Central Station or Airport. If you're interested in Vikings there's a Viking festival in July and the city Roskilde, nearby, has a great viking museum and boats.

    I grew up in Copenhagen, so I can show you around if it fits. Otherwise, I've settled on this island to get well grounded and I love to live of the land as much as I can. I moved here in June 2014, so I'm still setting up systems and trying to get it all to work.

    I'm also building relations to the community and my parents are on the island. I hope you like cats, because my cats will be happy to have another human to cuddle up with.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have fiber internet and it works well.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a little space for a little camper under a tree :-)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 812829953314

Feedback (12)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Come and help us build an eco village in the forest on Bornholm, Denmark
Come and help on our small farm near Farsø, Vesthimmerland, Denmark