Highland retreat with a young family close to the Loch - Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a busy young family, splitting our time between Ballachulish, in the highlands of Scotland, and Glasgow. Ballachulish is a major outdoor hub with access to hills, lochs, rivers, skiing, etc, and Glasgow is a dynamic, young, and friendly cultural haven.
    Hannah is a psychiatrist currently on maternity leave but returning to work in Glasgow in march 2019. Niall works in civil engineering with projects across the country and abroad.
    Locally, we are in the process of building a tourist business / wellness centre based around a fairytale mansion house (Achara house), which will also have remote rooms built within an ancient Scottish forest.
    We are striving towards a sustainable existence and live with concern for our natural habitat.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a traditional highland setting. Ballachulish is a living highland village. Someone living with us would access a genuine highland experience that more straightforward tourism would not be able to provide. There is an incredible range of outdoor pursuits on our doorstep, with people visiting from around the world.

  • Help

    Help

    We require multi-skilled individuals, who are able to provide childcare, housework, general handiwork, and some building/woodwork.or, but not limited to, working on a house build project. We also have some highland cows that need some care.
    Non-smokers only please.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in our family home, which is in the village of Ballachulish and offers easy access to outdoor activities. We often travel to Glasgow to stay for a few days, it is possibly that we may require you to come with us, or stay in Ballachulish while we are away. We have a 7 month old daughter. You will be sharing living spaces with us but will have your own bedroom. You will be expected to participate in cooking, home life, and housekeeping, within reason.
    Adjacent to the house is a self-contained cottage which you may help us redecorate, once this is done it could provide further accommodation possibilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are good bus links to Glasgow, Fort William, Skye and other key places. We also have a number of vehicles that may be available for use.
    It is important that you be an independent, self-reliant person while staying with us as we will not always be around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 812783872452