Simple life in nature on a diverse farm in Ste-Cécile-de-Milton, Qc, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Good morning! We are a colorful French-speaking family who are starting a diversified farm on the family land located 3 minutes from our house. A large 102-acres land made up of 5 lakes, 0.5 hectare of market gardening, a henhouse with 25 poultry and the rest in forest. We are also in free learning, our childrens have been home schooling for 3 years, Coralie 15 years old and Elliot 12 years old. So we can't wait to share and learn about your culture, your language!
    Our life goal is to be as self-sufficient as possible!
    Our values are pleasure, simplicity, authenticity, sharing, recovery while being efficient.

    We are outside most of our time in winter and summer. The work vary depending on the temperature and abundance in the gardens. The day begins with a farm tour of the gardens, animals, buildings and forest to update the to-do list. Then we evaluate the priority tasks for the day. We are adding a few learning time and activities for children during the week. We all eat together, we take turns cooking and we wash the dishes together. And it's not work-exchange time ... it's life! There is a washer for the laundry and you must wash your own dirty laundry. On weekends, we often cook outside with friends / family with a good wood fire, smoking some meet and a good glass of our favorite beverage. We want to live with a responsible and voluntary person (s).


    Bonjour! Nous sommes une famille francophone colorée qui est en démarrage de ferme diversifiée sur la terre familiale située à 3 minutes de notre maison. Une grande terre de 102 acres composée de 5 lacs, 0.5 hectare de culture maraichère, un poulailler de 25 volailles et le reste en forêt. Nous sommes aussi en apprentissages libres, nos enfants font l'école à la maison depuis 3 ans, Coralie 15 ans et Elliot 12 ans. Nous avons donc très hâte de partager et d'apprendre sur votre culture, votre langue!
    Notre objectif de vie est d'être le plus autosuffisant possible!
    Nos valeurs sont le plaisir, la simplicité, l'authenticité, le partage, la récupération tout en étant efficace.

    Nous sommes dehors la plupart de notre temps hiver comme été. Les tâches varient selon la température et l'abondance aux jardins. La journée débute par une tournée de la ferme, des jardins, des animaux, des bâtiments et de la foret pour mettre la liste des tâches à jour. Ensuite nous évaluons les tâches prioritaires de la journée. Nous ajoutons quelques tâches d'apprentissages et d'activités pour les enfants durant la semaine. On mange tous ensemble, on cuisine chacun notre tour et on lave la vaisselle tous ensemble. Et ce n'est pas du temps travail-échange...c'est la vie! Il y a une laveuse pour le linge et vous devez laver votre propre linge sale.
    Les fins de semaine, nous cuisinons souvent dehors entre amis/famille avec un bon feu de bois, nous fumons de la viande avec un bon verre de notre breuvage préféré. Nous désirons vivre avec une/des personne.s responsable.s et volontaire.s.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn to live off the land simply, in daily pleasure. With us you will learn French, bio-intensive cultivation, permaculture, logistics, voluntary simplicity, management of social networks and much more. For our part, with home schooling for children, we are open to all horizons of learning.

    Apprendre à vivre de la terre simplement, dans le plaisir au quotidien.
    Avec nous vous apprendrez le Français, la culture bio-intensive, la permaculture, la logistique, la simplicité volontaire, la gestion des réseaux sociaux et bien plus. De notre coté, avec l'école à la maison des enfants, nous sommes ouvert à tous les horizon d'apprentissages.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for diverse help; Help in the forest to clean, cut, split and string wood. Help in the gardens to weed, maintain and others. Help for the preservation of food given by the abundance of gardens. Help for animals, construction and anything on the farm. Help with the house. It really depend of the seasons!
    Winter - We work mostly in the wood and do renovation or work on projet in the garage.
    Spring - MAPPLE SIRUP!! And starting the garders.
    Summer - Garden, garden, garden! :) Processing the vegetables for conservation.
    Fall - We close the gardens and prepare the land before the freeze and the snow

    Nous sommes à la recherche d'aide diversifiée; Aide en forêt pour nettoyer, bucher, fendre et corder le bois. Aide au jardins pour désherber, entretenir et autres. Aide pour la conservation des aliments vu l'abondance des jardins. Aide pour les animaux, construction et tout ce qui peut entourer la terre. Aide à l'entretien de la maison. Ca dépend vraiment des saisons!
    Hiver - On travaille principalement dans la forêt et on fait de la rénovation ou on travaille sur différents projets dans le garage.
    Printemps - SIROP D'ÉRABLE!!! Et on prépare les jardins
    Été - Jardins jardins, jardins! :) On cuisine les légumes pour la conservation.
    Automne - On ferme les jardins et on prépare le terrain et les bâtiments avant les gelées et la neige.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For now, we have a trailer that can sleep 5 people in summer, in winter we have a bedroom at the house with a double bed. Eventually we want to make small dwellings in the forest. You can help us build them! :)

    Pour l'instant, nous avons une roulotte pouvant coucher 5 personnes l'été, l'hiver nous avons une chambre à la maison avec un lit double. Éventuellement nous voulons faire de petites habitations dans la forêt. Vous pourrez nous aider à les construire! :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in a small country village 15 minutes from the city of Granby, 1 hour from Montreal, 2 hours from Quebec.
    You can follow our social media to know us more; @auxjardinscolores for the farm projet and @nosaventurescolorees for us homeschool journey.

    Nous sommes situé dans un petit village de campagne à 15 minutes de la ville de Granby, 1 heure de Montréal, 2 heures de Québec.
    Vous pouvez suivre nos réseaux sociaux pour en apprendre plus sur nous; @auxjardinscolores pour le projet de la ferme et @nosaventurescolorees pour notre quotidien d'Apprentissages en famille.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Nous pouvons facilement vous accommoder selon vos besoins!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Nous avons de l'espace amplement pour vous accommoder! Vous pourrez même choisir votre paysage; lacs, foret, jardins! ;)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    En autant que vous en faite la gestion

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 812167548847